Till Morning Is Nigh: A Wortham Family Christmas - eBook  -     By: Leisha Kelly
Buy Item $6.39 Retail: $7.99 Save 20% ($1.60) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Till Morning Is Nigh: A Wortham Family Christmas - eBook

Revell / 2007 / ePub

$6.39 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $7.99
|
Save 20% ($1.60)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW12466EB

* This product is available for purchase worldwide.

Read this eBook on:




Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Revell
Publication Date: 2007
ISBN: 9781441201270
ISBN-13: 9781441201270
Availability: In Stock
Series: Wortham Family

Publisher's Description

It is December of 1932, just one year after the Worthams and the Hammonds lost Wilametta Hammond and Emma Graham in one terrible night. The Christmas spirit seems largely absent again this year. George Hammond has disappeared, and Julia Wortham's house is filled to overflowing with the Hammond children, several of whom are coming down with a mysterious illness. As Christmas nears, the children's homemade nativity scene takes on a life of its own, bringing comfort in the midst of uncertainty and hard times.
This heartfelt novella lets readers share Christmas with the Worthams and the Hammonds and discover the strength of faith, love, and family.

Author Bio

Prior to her untimely death in 2011, Leisha Kelly was the author of several bestselling historical fiction books, including Julia's Hope, Emma's Gift, and Katie's Dream. She served many years on her local library board and was active in the ministries of her church.

ChristianBookPreviews.com

A Christmas crisis strikes the Wortham and Hammond families in Leisha Kelly’s novella Till Morning is Nigh. Nine of the ten motherless Hammond children must stay with their kind-hearted neighbors, the Worthams, when their emotionally unstable father goes missing. Fearful for their father’s life and still grieving the death of their mother, the children’s worries are further compounded when a sickness sweeps through the household. As Christmas approaches, it falls to Julia Wortham to bring cheer and hope to a family beset with tragedy.

Told in first person narrative by Julia Wortham, the book relies heavily on dialogue to tell the story. Julia is an admirable, if not always realistic, protagonist, selfless and generous in the midst of poverty. The children’s characters are varied and have a reasonable degree of depth, though they are difficult to keep straight based on their sheer number. Additional confusion arises because Julia has her own two children to add to the mix, as well as a girl named Katie who lives in the Wortham home. Kelly weaves in snippets of information about some of these lesser characters as the story progresses, but often it is too little too late.

Descriptions of the time and setting are sparse, lacking in the rich detail that otherwise could bring the setting to life in the reader’s mind. While the back cover of the book does state that the year is 1932, the story itself gives no reference to the Depression. The reader only knows that this simple farming community has fallen on hard times. This is regrettable, as a true understanding of the setting would only amplify the values the Wortham’s possess: sacrificial love, hope, and joy in the face of difficulty, whether it is poverty, illness, or even death.

Fans of Leisha Kelly and The Wortham Family Series will be pleased to continue this saga of familiar characters. Till Morning is Nigh can stand alone, but it is probably best read in conjunction with the rest of the series. As a newcomer, I found it slightly confusing, somewhat repetitive, and frequently downbeat. I appreciate that Kelly avoided an overly-sappy, clichéd happy-ending, but I was also left wondering about the many loose ends and wishing for more resolution. Unfortunately, I am unlikely to pick up the next novella in order to find out the answers. -- Stacie Roth Miller, Christian Book Previews.com

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Unforgotten, Michelli Family Series #2
    Unforgotten, Michelli Family Series #2
    Kristen Heitzmann
    Bethany House / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $13.49 Retail: $17.00 Save 21% ($3.51)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 24 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW28285
  2. The Heart's Lullaby - eBookeBOOK
    The Heart's Lullaby - eBook
    Jen Stephens
    Sheaf House / 2012 / ePub
    $1.59 Retail: $2.99 Save 47% ($1.40)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 6 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW33759EB
  3. Christmas Cradles: An Amish Christmas Novella - eBookeBOOK
    Christmas Cradles: An Amish Christmas Novella - eBook
    Kelly Long
    Thomas Nelson / 2012 / ePub
    $2.99
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW34855EB
  4. Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBookeBOOK
    Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #1 -eBook
    Julianna Deering
    Bethany House / 2013 / ePub
    $5.59 Retail: $13.99 Save 60% ($8.40)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 34 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW42487EB

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search