Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
    Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
    Mesu Andrews
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 16 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721695
4.8 Stars Out Of 5
4.8 out of 5
(12)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Value:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 16
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next
  1. Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Captivating
    March 13, 2013
    Faith and Family Reviews
    Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Love in a Broken Vessel by Mesu Andrews is a biblical fiction novel. My husband loves the minor prophets and I'll have to admit that I've never really fancied them. I enjoyed reading through many of them when reading through the Old Testament because they were quite often the shortest books! Ha! I have found it takes a lot of brain power to try and wrap my mind around God's prophecy concerning Israel. Biblical fiction helps me put it into perspective for some reason.

    This book captivated my interest for the very same reason Rebekah by Jill Eileen Smith did. I enjoyed reading Mesu Andrews' "take" on the prophet Hosea's obedience to marry a prostitute, make her his wife and to love her as God loves Israel. Can you imagine receiving a command like that? It seems unfathomable, doesn't it?

    At times I detested Gomer, Hosea's harlot wife. She couldn't see what was right in front of her - a loving, tender man who loved her with all his heart regardless of her past or her continual gravitation back to her old way of life - prostitution. God gave him an unselfish love for Gomer and she could not see or believe it for what it really was - God's love pouring out through Hosea. She had so many walls and barriers up around her heart_Yet Hosea pursued her. The picture of Hosea's pursuing love showed me anew God's love for us.

    Have you ever thought of God as a pursuing beau? It's a rather beautiful thought. God's love is so great that he pursues us. What amazing love!

    As with Mesu Andrews' other biblical fiction novels, Love in a Broken Vessel made me want to read the book of Hosea in the bible and try to understand all that God truly accomplished through the prophet Hosea, who had the hard task of delivering prophetic messages to God's people. This book truly showed that God's love endures, even when we are unfaithful - like Israel and Gomer were to their bridegrooms - just as the bible teaches.

    "Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
  2. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    March 13, 2013
    Rosie
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    A fantastic, heartbreaking, fictional account of Hosea and Gomer's story!

    Mesu Andrews does it again in Love in a Broken Vessel! Having studied the book of Hosea late last year, I was so excited for Mesu's latest! I just adore how she weaves scripture into the story seamlessly. She does not disappoint and I can honestly say I really liked this book. :-)

    Gomer is an emotionally broken girl. Her father sold her to a brothel at the young age of twelve and she has never known a love like Yahweh's for his people. Her character and personality felt real on the page. Her internal struggles, her tangled heart, and feelings of abandonment make me pity her. Watching her change throughout the novel was both heart-wrenching and encouraging. She certainly has a few ups and downs.

    Hosea has been called to represent Yahweh's love for prostitute Israel, so the Lord sends him to Samaria to marry a harlot. He never expected the harlot he meets to be his childhood friend, Gomer. Reluctantly, she marries him. Hosea's care and love for Gomer goes beyond what he could ever imagine. Through this marriage he finally understands how Yahweh aches for His people to return to Him. It's so powerful to read.

    If you like Biblical fiction then this one is for you. I highly recommend this book! ;-)

    I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!

    Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  3. Oregon
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Excellent story of the life of Gomer from the O.T.
    March 13, 2013
    Julieanne Miller
    Oregon
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Hosea, Amos, Micah, Isaiah, Jonah: little known prophets of old, with books of the Old Testament attributed to their names.

    Jerusalem, Tekoa, Israel, Samaria, Judah: real geographical sites of happenings told in the Old Testament.

    Jehoash, Jereboam II, Zechariah, Shallum, Menahem, Pekahiah, Pekah, Amaziah, Uzziah, Jothan, Ahaz, Hezekiah: kings of Israel and of Judah during the period of this story.

    Gomer: the misfit harlot who is hard to respect and love and yet, God commanded Hosea to woo her, marry her, have children with her, and most of all, love her to know his God, Yahweh.

    This is an almost inconceivable command which we are likely to skim over and ignore because of the abominable descriptions of this woman and her activities who is center-front in Hosea's story.

    Yet, God had a definite purpose for this story and compared it to Israel's love and rejection of Himself.

    It is used to teach lessons that we all must learn. These people are connected and brought to life with their emotions, intentions, and ideas through the gift of great imagination and excellent writing.

    This was a difficult story to read as a Christian, and it had to have been a difficult story to write.

    Yet it is accomplished in a way that leaves the reader needing to read more and eventually come to the end of the story.

    In Love in a Broken Vessel, Gomer becomes a very real personality, a picture for all of us as we judge those less fortunate around us every day. We generally read Hosea, the book, and think only of him and his frustration with this woman as he attempts to follow the commands of Yahweh. We know that there was a huge purpose in the telling, and we also know that Gomer, as a woman, had her own story to tell.

    It must have been a very sad one.

    Gomer connects with Hosea as he pursues her, but very reluctantly. She does not understand or even like the life to which he introduces her in his village, Tekoa.

    She is rejected by most of the villagers and used by those who have no respect for her; she eventually learns to become a potter as a trade, an escape from her mundane life, and she falls in love with creating beautiful clay objects. Hence, the title of the book, Love in a Broken Vessel.

    Gomer does not relate at all to Hosea's travels throughout Israel and Judah, feeling always that he has deserted her, and so she falls back on the trade she knows most well, prostitution.

    But the one true God, Yahweh, has other plans for her and insists that Hosea, as broken-hearted and even becoming hard-hearted toward Gomer as he does, continue to pursue Gomer and bring her back. He never stops loving her, just as God continues to love all His children no matter how far away we stray from His Word and His teachings. Hosea has a difficult time ignoring his Yahweh.

    This is an emotional story, with many personalities coming to life and expressing their feelings. Life is real, life is hard, and there are many disappointments along the way. There are also untold rewards for following the call of our Lord.
  4. Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Love in a Broken Vessel a Story of Unfailing Love
    March 12, 2013
    Blooming with Books
    Bloomer, WI
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Love in a Broken Vessel

    By Mesu Andrews

    What if God told you to marry the last type of person you'd ever think of marrying? Would you do it? Would you marry a woman who had given her body to other men in the worship of false gods? Would you think God was playing a trick on you?

    This is the message Hosea received from God. But could he give his heart to a prostitute and love her as God loved the nation of Israel even though their love was rejected for the fleeting love of another?

    Love in a Broken Vessel is a powerful and moving look at the power of God's love and even, in a way, the forgiveness of God.

    Gomer, from a young age was forced into a life of selling her body for the pleasures of men under the guise of worship. It is into this very environment that Hosea has come to warn the nation of Israel that the time of punishment was drawing nigh. God was offering His chosen people a chance to return to Him and to give up their false worship. But Hosea's words fell on deaf ears and hardened hearts.

    But in addition to delivering God's warning Hosea is to also marry a prostitute. Hosea's marriage to Gomer is to be a parallel to God's relationship with Israel. How long can God love a people who refuse to worship or acknowledge Him? How often can a husband be expected to forgive a wife who seeks out other men? Does he accept the children of her unfaithfulness as his own? Or will he reject her as she seemingly rejects him?

    But God's love is true as is the love Hosea has for his wife. God has redeemed His love through the blood of His Son. Hosea is to redeem his wife but only after she has suffered for her unfaithfulness and can fully grasp the redeeming love that is again offered to her.

    If you have ever read the book of Hosea you need to read Love in a Broken Vessel which is a story of unfailing love and redemption. This is a moving story that will touch the heart of any sinner who has experienced the redeeming love of the Savior.

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, all opinions are my own.

    Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  5. Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    New Favorite Biblical Fiction Author!
    March 11, 2013
    CharityUAusten
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Yay! A new favorite Biblical fiction author for me to enjoy! She's right up there with Tessa Afshar and Jill Eileen Smith. This mesmerizing book is based on the story of the Old Testament prophet Hosea, who, as you may remember, was commanded by God to marry a harlot to illustrate Israel's relationship with God. Of course, Mesu had to include quite a bit of fiction to flesh out this book (based on a book of prophecy), but it all seemed accurate and was very well done. I was especially impressed by how many direct quotes there were from the Bible and specifically the book of Hosea. All worked neatly into the story! This book naturally deals with some tough material, but Mesu handled it very tastefully and without over much detail - though this still isn't a book for younger readers. That being said, it was an intriguing book and you won't be able to put it down! Do you like Biblical fiction? If so, definitely recommending this author and this book.

    Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    **Revell sent me a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. All opinions expressed here are mine and are honest. I wasn't required to post a positive review.**
Displaying items 11-15 of 16
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next