Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Icing on the Cake, The (Weddings by Design Book #2): A Novel - eBookeBOOK
    Icing on the Cake, The (Weddings by Design Book #2): A Novel - eBook
    Janice Thompson
    Revell / 2013 / ePub
    $4.89 Retail: $7.99 Save 39% ($3.10)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 17 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW44397EB
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(10)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Value:
4.4 out Of 5
(4.4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 17
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next
  1. Indiana
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 23, 2013
    lcjohnson1988
    Indiana
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Weddings by Design is a series of novels that focus on relationships, first with the Lord before looking elsewhere for fulfillment. I read the first novel, Picture Perfect, and thoroughly enjoyed the various heritages the characters brought to the story. Now in the sequel, The Icing on the Cake, Janice Thompson continues where Hannah's story wasn't quite complete in the first novel one. The story continues with Hannah's adventure while expanding on several of the other players' story lines.

    Scarlet is the daughter of a pastor and an only child, which is why Hannah is her BFF. While preparing for events, Scarlet begins to feel uncomfortable with herself and who she is, doubting she can be loved for who she is and her looks. Armando comes from a large Italian family, who feels as if he never got the right amount of attention; therefore, he was making decisions based on what he felt, which led him away from the family. Now, he has returned to the island to help his family and then go wherever the winds might blow, at least that was his plan.

    Sometimes when we aren't looking for Who we really need or want God brings the pieces together to draw us to Him. In the story, many characters are looking for or avoiding God for a variety of reasons. Some even refuse to interact with people based on past experiences. Now, in the tale, the tiny church, which isn't modern by any means, is going to have a talent show to raise funds for a mission trip. There are also plans to have a sale at the bakery Scarlet owns and runs. Faced with her past and wondering about the future leads her down a road of opportunities.

    The tale has many themes running throughout the pages such as nicknames that build up and others that cause pain for a long time. There is forgiveness, choosing how to live now for a healthier future, as well as being gently led out of one's comfort zone. Each chapter highlights a little saying that adds spice to the novel some of which will cause you to really laugh out loud! Some of the personality traits in the players I would venture to say are ones we can relate to in ourselves or someone we know. Most of the quirks in these fictional families will crack you up or at least make you smile.

    So grab a sweet ice tea, a comfy chair and enjoy book 2, The Icing on the Cake!
  2. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 20, 2013
    Rosie
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Another great rom-com from Thompson!

    This is an excellent addition to the Weddings by Design series, and a well written one at that. Not that Picture Perfect wasn't splendidly done, because it was. I just think Icing on the Cake is just that: the icing on the cake. Thompson brought to surface an issue that is scarcely written about in fiction: obesity. She handled it with grace and accuracy.

    Nonetheless, it felt good to get to know such a beautiful character. I enjoyed Scarlet's presence in Hannah's story, but nothing could have thrilled me more than getting to know dear, sweet, funny Scarlet more. As with every character I grow fond of, I loved watching Scarlett blossom into the woman God made her to be, flaws and all. She changed for the better.

    So far, there hasn't been a book written by Miss Thompson that I haven't liked. Time literally flies when I pick up one of her novels, in a very good way. I cannot express how much I enjoy her style, her characters, and her humor. I really need to go finish her Weddings by Bella series now...

    If you enjoy clean romantic comedies, then I can almost promise you Janice Thompson won't let you down! I recommend for ages 15 and up.

    Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
  3. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Wedding Cake, National TV Cake Challenge & Romance
    August 20, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Janice Thompson in her new book, "The Icing On The Cake" Book Two in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Scarlet Lindsey.

    From the back cover: Scarlet isn't sure if she has just the right ingredients for true love-or utter disaster

    Scarlet Lindsey is busy making her dreams come true. She's moved her bakery to a prime spot on Galveston's most popular street, she's planning an extravagant cake for her best friend's wedding, and she has a great relationship with Bella Neeley, the island's most popular wedding coordinator. Business is booming and Scarlet is enjoying the ride.

    But when Bella's dangerously handsome brother Armando breezes into her life, Scarlet is faced with a sticky situation. Should she stay with the safe, sweet guy who's been a fixture in her life for years? Or will this brash Italian hunk melt her guarded heart?

    Fan favorite Janice Thompson is back with more wit, more weddings, and more of what you love best-bridal-business drama laced with laughs.

    When you go to a wedding the item that dominates the reception hall is the wedding cake. Bella is the wedding planner and Scarlet not only is the cake baker but also Bella's friend. Welcome back to Galveston Island and a whole new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Scarlet gets involved in a series of misunderstandings and mishaps that cause her to compete in a cake challenge on national television and this is where all the fun is. And then, of course, there is the romance. This book is all about relationships within the family and also among friends and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  4. Tampa, FL
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Yummy Novel
    August 19, 2013
    Sally
    Tampa, FL
    I love the characters that Janice Thompson creates. Boy, do I connect with Scarlet, the main protagonist in this novel. She is the first overweight female I've "met" through reading. Poor thing, Scarlet feels self-conscious about her abundant backside--her "sticky buns," a thoughtless nickname her Aunt Wilhelmina gave her long ago. To further complicate things, Scarlet owns and operates a bakery named, "Let Them Eat Cake" which is financed by the same Auntie, who makes a habit of popping in often to offer her advice.

    Scarlet's love interest, Armando Rossi, doesn't notice her (ahem) thickness. In fact, he seems to think she looks just fine. He's an Italian bad boy who has come home to temporarily work in the family business--Parma John's Pizzeria, located next door to the bakery.

    I learned about the business of running a bakery, a bake-off competition for a national television show (as in Food Network), and the work involved with raising money for a mission trip. Included is a recipe for an Italian Wedding Cake that I plan to try, even though I know my "sticky buns" will surely expand!

    I recommend reading the first book in the Weddings by Design series Picture Perfect. Nonetheless, Icing on the Cake is a delightful stand-alone novel and certainly can be enjoyed without reading any other.

    Available August, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Thank you to Lanette Haskins at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.
  5. North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    COME ON OVER TO WEDDINGS BY DESIGN....
    August 18, 2013
    My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    THE ICING ON THE CAKE by Janice Thompson is another delightful inspirational Contemporary Romance set on Galveston Island. #2 in the "Weddings by Design" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Picture Perfect". Join Scarlet Lindsey, and her friends, as Scarlet tries to make her dreams come true. Her best friend Bella Neeley is getting married and Scarlet is to make the wedding cake. Scarlet bless her, can not only make cakes, she skirts disaster as well. With, weddings,charm,wit,wedding cakes,and romance what not to enjoy! Ms. Thompson has done it again with her "Weddings by Design" series. She certainly knows how to spin a tale of charm,humor,weddings,wedding cakes,with her sweet romantic story of Scarlet and Armando,Bella's dangerous Italian brother. Well written with charismatic characters and a treat of a story! If you enjoy a witty storyline, charismatic characters, sweet romance, Weddings and a taste of love than pick up "The Icing on the Cake" you will not be sorry. Another enjoyable read by Janice Thompson. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    **Available August 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
Displaying items 11-15 of 17
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next