Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
    The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
    Janice Thompson
    Revell / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 21% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 16 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721534
4.6 Stars Out Of 5
4.6 out of 5
(9)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Value:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.7 out Of 5
(4.7 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 16
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next
  1. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 20, 2013
    Rosie
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Another great rom-com from Thompson!

    This is an excellent addition to the Weddings by Design series, and a well written one at that. Not that Picture Perfect wasn't splendidly done, because it was. I just think Icing on the Cake is just that: the icing on the cake. Thompson brought to surface an issue that is scarcely written about in fiction: obesity. She handled it with grace and accuracy.

    Nonetheless, it felt good to get to know such a beautiful character. I enjoyed Scarlet's presence in Hannah's story, but nothing could have thrilled me more than getting to know dear, sweet, funny Scarlet more. As with every character I grow fond of, I loved watching Scarlett blossom into the woman God made her to be, flaws and all. She changed for the better.

    So far, there hasn't been a book written by Miss Thompson that I haven't liked. Time literally flies when I pick up one of her novels, in a very good way. I cannot express how much I enjoy her style, her characters, and her humor. I really need to go finish her Weddings by Bella series now...

    If you enjoy clean romantic comedies, then I can almost promise you Janice Thompson won't let you down! I recommend for ages 15 and up.

    Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
  2. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Wedding Cake, National TV Cake Challenge & Romance
    August 20, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Janice Thompson in her new book, "The Icing On The Cake" Book Two in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Scarlet Lindsey.

    From the back cover: Scarlet isn't sure if she has just the right ingredients for true love-or utter disaster

    Scarlet Lindsey is busy making her dreams come true. She's moved her bakery to a prime spot on Galveston's most popular street, she's planning an extravagant cake for her best friend's wedding, and she has a great relationship with Bella Neeley, the island's most popular wedding coordinator. Business is booming and Scarlet is enjoying the ride.

    But when Bella's dangerously handsome brother Armando breezes into her life, Scarlet is faced with a sticky situation. Should she stay with the safe, sweet guy who's been a fixture in her life for years? Or will this brash Italian hunk melt her guarded heart?

    Fan favorite Janice Thompson is back with more wit, more weddings, and more of what you love best-bridal-business drama laced with laughs.

    When you go to a wedding the item that dominates the reception hall is the wedding cake. Bella is the wedding planner and Scarlet not only is the cake baker but also Bella's friend. Welcome back to Galveston Island and a whole new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Scarlet gets involved in a series of misunderstandings and mishaps that cause her to compete in a cake challenge on national television and this is where all the fun is. And then, of course, there is the romance. This book is all about relationships within the family and also among friends and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  3. Tampa, FL
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Yummy Novel
    August 19, 2013
    Sally
    Tampa, FL
    I love the characters that Janice Thompson creates. Boy, do I connect with Scarlet, the main protagonist in this novel. She is the first overweight female I've "met" through reading. Poor thing, Scarlet feels self-conscious about her abundant backside--her "sticky buns," a thoughtless nickname her Aunt Wilhelmina gave her long ago. To further complicate things, Scarlet owns and operates a bakery named, "Let Them Eat Cake" which is financed by the same Auntie, who makes a habit of popping in often to offer her advice.

    Scarlet's love interest, Armando Rossi, doesn't notice her (ahem) thickness. In fact, he seems to think she looks just fine. He's an Italian bad boy who has come home to temporarily work in the family business--Parma John's Pizzeria, located next door to the bakery.

    I learned about the business of running a bakery, a bake-off competition for a national television show (as in Food Network), and the work involved with raising money for a mission trip. Included is a recipe for an Italian Wedding Cake that I plan to try, even though I know my "sticky buns" will surely expand!

    I recommend reading the first book in the Weddings by Design series Picture Perfect. Nonetheless, Icing on the Cake is a delightful stand-alone novel and certainly can be enjoyed without reading any other.

    Available August, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Thank you to Lanette Haskins at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.
  4. North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    COME ON OVER TO WEDDINGS BY DESIGN....
    August 18, 2013
    My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    THE ICING ON THE CAKE by Janice Thompson is another delightful inspirational Contemporary Romance set on Galveston Island. #2 in the "Weddings by Design" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Picture Perfect". Join Scarlet Lindsey, and her friends, as Scarlet tries to make her dreams come true. Her best friend Bella Neeley is getting married and Scarlet is to make the wedding cake. Scarlet bless her, can not only make cakes, she skirts disaster as well. With, weddings,charm,wit,wedding cakes,and romance what not to enjoy! Ms. Thompson has done it again with her "Weddings by Design" series. She certainly knows how to spin a tale of charm,humor,weddings,wedding cakes,with her sweet romantic story of Scarlet and Armando,Bella's dangerous Italian brother. Well written with charismatic characters and a treat of a story! If you enjoy a witty storyline, charismatic characters, sweet romance, Weddings and a taste of love than pick up "The Icing on the Cake" you will not be sorry. Another enjoyable read by Janice Thompson. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    **Available August 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
  5. Oregon
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Yummy!
    August 17, 2013
    Casey
    Oregon
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Dab a bit of icing on that cake_it's done! The loveable Rossi family can't get any bigger or more loveable_or can they? Maybe they need to add another lovely member for one of their long-time single young men, hmmm?

    For all the fans of the "Bella books", we've ALL been waiting for Armamdo's love story. The bad boy of the Rossi clan? Oh yeah. I won't say too much for fear of giving away the entire plot of the story, but know this: for old and new fans of Thompson's loveable clan they are sure to find the perfect match in Scarlett and Armando's love story.

    I love surrounding a fun, first-person book around food. Probably because anything Italian and then sweet involved with more than a dollop of romance just makes for a yummy, enjoyable escape. The novel is perfect on all these counts. It's sweet and tender with Thompson's brand of humor that keeps the pages flippin' beneath the fingers.

    I giggled and sighed through the story, more than a bit glad I got to spend so much time with Bella and her family and get to know Scarlett - and oh Scarlett has a story to tell, a sure favorite for contemporary romantic comedy readers. Talk about beloved characters!

    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.

    **Available August 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**
Displaying items 11-15 of 16
Page 3 of 4 Previous 1234 Next