Meet Charles Swindoll

A native Texan, Charles Swindoll was born in El Campo, on October 18, 1934, the youngest of three children. His original career choice out of high school was mechanical engineering. However, during his tour of duty with the Marines, which included 16 months in Southeast Asia, he became convinced that the Lord's real direction for his life was as a pastor. He graduated from Dallas Seminary in 1962, and has held pastorates in Texas, Massachusetts, and California, where he spent 23 years as senior pastor at the First Evangelical Free Church of Fullerton. He and his wife, Cynthia, were married in 1955, and have four children and nine grandchildren.

Most people know Charles Swindoll as president of Dallas Theological Seminary--his alma mater--and the host of the daily radio program, "Insight for Living"--heard on more than 1,600 stations globally. He is the author of more than 30 books which have sold almost 6 million copies worldwide. His unique expository preaching, teaching, and writing style is marked by a clear and accurate presentation of Scripture, with an emphasis on the practical application of God's truth to everyday living. Swindoll's newest book series, Great Lives from God's Word, is proving to be immensely popular. The first volume, David, spent six months on the CBA hardcover nonfiction bestseller list.

Great Lives profiles the character traits that made familiar biblical men and women successful and encourages readers to adopt these same traits in their own lives. In our search for heroes, Chuck Swindoll finds his in the word of God. Exploring what it means to be someone "after God's own heart," David illustrates that God does not always choose the brilliant, the beautiful, the successful to be his heroes, but more often the nobodies, and then turns them into somebodies. Swindoll writes, "God is looking for men and women whose hearts are completely His--completely. That means there are no locked closets. Nothing's been swept under the rug. That means when you do wrong, you come to terms with it. You care about the motives behind your actions. That's true spirituality...that's the first quality David had." The second volume in the series tells about the courage of Esther; the third the positive faith of Joseph. Other volumes include Moses and Solomon.

Chuck Swindoll says that "truths haven't changed, but they need the dust blown off them so they can be seen in the light of where we live today." This series continues to do what he has been doing so well for so long--turning timeless truths into timely teaching for today--taking truth off the shelf, blowing off the dust, and putting it out on the table where it will be seen and used again.

A prolific writer, recent books by Swindoll include Wisdom for the Way, Bedside Blessings, Improving Your Serve, The Darkness and the Dawn, and God's Provision in Time of Need. Upcoming releases are Swindoll's Ultimate Book of Illustrations and Quotes, Understanding the Heart of Christian Theology, Simple Faith, The Grace Awakening, and Five Meaningful Minutes Per Day.

Updated June 2003.

Selected Products by Charles Swindoll

All Products by Charles Swindoll at

If you like Charles Swindoll, check out these authors

Return to Author Profile Page