Meet Tracie Peterson

Tracie Peterson is a best-selling author of almost sixty romance novels. Tracie had wanted to write books since she was little. She knew she wanted to write romance, but at the time the only romance available was in the secular market which she wouldn’t write for because of the sexual content and language—so Tracie put writing on hold for a while. It wasn’t until after she had picked up a Janette Oke book that she started working on outlines and proposals.

At the beginning of her career, Tracie used the pen name of Janelle Jamison but now uses her real name. She writes both series and standalone books. Some of her series include, Ribbons of Steel, Westward Chronicles, Yukon Quest, Bells of Lowell, Alaskan Quest, and Ladies of Liberty. Some of her standalone books are Entangled, A Slender Thread, The Long-Awaited Child, Julotta, Silent Star, Castles, I Can’t Do It All, and Where My Heart Belongs.

When it comes to balancing writing and family, Tracie says, “I’ve always tried to make sure they knew that the writing wasn't more important than they were. I have to say that God's blessed me with the ability to stop and start. I'm not one of those writers who has to hide myself away and have absolute silence or anything like that… I wrote my first five or six books out in the middle of the living room with the television going and the kids flying around the room.”

She, her husband, Jim, daughter Jennifer, and friend Charity Kauffman make up Peterson Ink, Inc., which produces Barbour Publishing’s Heartsong Presents book line. Each year, fifty-two Christian romance novels (half contemporary, half historical) are published through Peterson Ink.

She and her family of five live in Montana.

Last updated June 2008.

All Products by Tracie Peterson at

If you like Tracie Peterson, check out these authors

Return to Author Profile Page