Meet Philip Yancey

Philip Yancey has influenced the lives of over 15 million people since he published his first book, Where Is God When It Hurts?, in 1977. His career accomplishments make him one of the best-selling evangelical Christian authors. He has won the ECPAís Christian Book of the Year Award twice for his books, The Jesus I Never Knew (1996) and Whatís So Amazing About Grace (1998). He has also earned the Gold Medallion Book Award for twelve additional titles, not to mention, 14 million copies that have been sold in 25 different languages.

"I write books for myself," he says. "I write books to resolve things that are bothering me, things I don't have answers to. My books are a process of exploration and investigation. So, I tend to tackle different problems related to faith, things of concern to me, things I wonder about and worry about." Other books by him include Rumors of Another World (2003), Reaching for the Invisible God (2000), The Bible Jesus Read (1999), Where is God When It Hurts (1990), and many others. For most of his life, Yancey has written articles for magazines such as Readerís Digest, Saturday Evening Post, National Wildlife and Christianity Today. He also serves at the editor-at-large and co-chair of the editorial board of Books and Culture for Christianity Today.

Phil Yancey lives in Evergreen, Colorado, with his wife, Janet.

Last updated June 2008.

Selected Products by Philip Yancey

All Products by Philip Yancey at

If you like Philip Yancey, check out these authors

Return to Author Profile Page