Galway Bay   -     By: Mary Pat Kelly
Buy Item $14.39 Retail: $15.99 Save 10% ($1.60) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Galway Bay

Hachette Book Group / 2011 / Paperback

$14.39 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.99
|
Save 10% ($1.60)
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
CBD Stock No: WW6697101

Current Promotions
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Description

In a hidden Ireland where fishermen and tenant farmers find solace in their ancient faith, songs, stories, and communal celebrations, young Honora Keeley and Michael Kelly wed and start a family. Because they and their countrymen must sell both their catch and their crops to pay exorbitant rents, potatoes have become their only staple food.

But when blight destroys the potatoes three times in four years, a callous government and uncaring landlords turn a natural disaster into The Great Starvation that will kill one million. Honora and Michael vow their children will live. The family joins two million other Irish refugees--victims saving themselves--in the emigration from Ireland.

Danger and hardship await them in America. Honora, her unconventional sister Maire, and their seven sons help transform Chicago from a frontier town to the "City of the Century." The boys go on to fight in the Civil War and enlist in the cause of Ireland's freedom.In a hidden Ireland where fishermen and tenant farmers find solace in their ancient faith, songs, stories, and communal celebrations, young Honora Keeley and Michael Kelly wed and start a family. Because they and their countrymen must sell both their catch and their crops to pay exorbitant rents, potatoes have become their only staple food.

But when blight destroys the potatoes three times in four years, a callous government and uncaring landlords turn a natural disaster into The Great Starvation that will kill one million. Honora and Michael vow their children will live. The family joins two million other Irish refugees--victims saving themselves--in the emigration from Ireland.

Danger and hardship await them in America. Honora, her unconventional sister Maire, and their seven sons help transform Chicago from a frontier town to the "City of the Century." The boys go on to fight in the Civil War and enlist in the cause of Ireland's freedom.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 562
Vendor: Hachette Book Group
Publication Date: 2011
Dimensions: 9 X 6 X 1.5 (inches)
ISBN-13: 9780446697101
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Related Products

  1. Fireproof, paperback
    Fireproof, paperback
    Alex Kendrick
    Thomas Nelson / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 44 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW685270
  2. Heart of the Lonely Exile - eBookeBOOK
    Heart of the Lonely Exile - eBook
    B.J. Hoff
    Harvest House Publishers / 2010 / ePub
    $9.07 Retail: $14.99 Save 39% ($5.92)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 5 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW2720EB
  3. Song of the Silent Harp - eBookeBOOK
    Song of the Silent Harp - eBook
    B.J. Hoff
    Harvest House Publishers / 2010 / ePub
    $9.01 Retail: $14.99 Save 40% ($5.98)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW2725EB
  4. Flight of the Earls, Heirs of Ireland Series #1
    Flight of the Earls, Heirs of Ireland Series #1
    Michael K. Reynolds
    B&H Books / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 21 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW678190

Publisher's Description

In a hidden Ireland where fishermen and tenant farmers find solace in their ancient faith, songs, stories, and communal celebrations, young Honora Keeley and Michael Kelly wed and start a family. Because they and their countrymen must sell both their catch and their crops to pay exorbitant rents, potatoes have become their only staple food.

But when blight destroys the potatoes three times in four years, a callous government and uncaring landlords turn a natural disaster into The Great Starvation that will kill one million. Honora and Michael vow their children will live. The family joins two million other Irish refugees--victims saving themselves--in the emigration from Ireland.

Danger and hardship await them in America. Honora, her unconventional sister Máire, and their seven sons help transform Chicago from a frontier town to the "City of the Century." The boys go on to fight in the Civil War and enlist in the cause of Ireland's freedom.

Spanning six generations and filled with joy, sadness, and heroism, GALWAY BAY sheds brilliant light on the ancestors of today's forty-four million Irish Americans--and is a universal story you will never forget.

Author Bio

Mary Patricia Kelly is the author of a novel Special Intentions, and nonfiction on subjects as varied as Martin Scorsese and the rescue of Scott O'Grady from Bosnia. In her life, she has been everything from a nun to a documentary filmmaker to a producer of short films for "Saturday Night Live". She lives in New York City.

Editorial Reviews

"A vividly lavish historical novel. Through the eyes of the extended Kelly clan, the reader is treated to a panoramic overview of the Irish American experience."—Booklist
"[Will] appeal to fans of Frank McCourt and Irish History."—Publishers Weekly
"After reading her novel, Galway Bay, you might wonder if Mary Pat Kelly knows everything about 19th century Ireland, the Great Famine, and the emigrant experience in America. But it's her exploration of the human heart that moves you. Against landscapes beautiful and bleak she brings her characters to unforgettable life. As they say in Ireland, 'Take your ease with this book.' You'll need time for laughter and tears and pure magic."—Frank McCourt, Pulitzer-Prize-winning author of ANGELA'S ASHES

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The Hurt & the Healer CD
    The Hurt & the Healer CD
    MercyMe
    Provident Music Distribution / 2012 / Compact disc
    $7.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 43% ($6.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 20 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WWCD45960
  2. By the Light of the Silvery Moon
    By the Light of the Silvery Moon
    Tricia Goyer
    Barbour Publishing / Trade Paperback
    $6.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 46% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 31 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW265519
    Video
  3. Storm, The Great Awakening Series #3
    Storm, The Great Awakening Series #3
    Bill Bright, Jack Cavanaugh
    Howard Books / 2006 / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 69% ($9.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 5 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW29493X
  4. So Shines the Night
    So Shines the Night
    Tracy L. Higley
    Thomas Nelson / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $7.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 50% ($8.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 12 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW686826

Availability

Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search