For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy - eBook  -     By: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Buy Item InStock5.99$5.99 Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy - eBook

Delacorte Press / 2007 / ePub

$5.99 (CBD Price)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW11263EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase only in the USA.

Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  2. In Stock
    $5.99
    Retail: $6.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $5.99
  3. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  4. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  5. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  6. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  7. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  8. In Stock
    $8.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $8.99
  9. In Stock
    $5.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $5.99
  10. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  11. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36
  12. In Stock
    $6.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $6.99
  13. In Stock
    $2.36
    Retail: $2.95
    Add To Cart
    0
    $2.36

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: 2007
ISBN: 9780307433381
ISBN-13: 9780307433381
Availability: In Stock
Ages: 12-14

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Elsie's Motherhood - eBookeBOOK
    Elsie's Motherhood - eBook
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2011 / ePub
    $2.36 Retail: $2.95 Save 20% ($0.59)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW18567EB
  2. A Boy at War: A Novel of Pearl Harbor - eBookeBOOK
    A Boy at War: A Novel of Pearl Harbor - eBook
    Harry Mazer
    Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers / 2012 / ePub
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW27621EB
  3. Elsie's Journey on Inland Waters - eBookeBOOK
    Elsie's Journey on Inland Waters - eBook
    Martha Finley
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2012 / ePub
    $2.36 Retail: $2.95 Save 20% ($0.59)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW26621EB
  4. Elsie s New Relations - eBookeBOOK
    Elsie s New Relations - eBook
    Martha Finley
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2011 / ePub
    $2.36 Retail: $2.95 Save 20% ($0.59)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW18571EB

Related Products

  1. Letters from a Slave Boy: The Story of Joseph Jacobs - eBookeBOOK
    Letters from a Slave Boy: The Story of Joseph Jacobs - eBook
    Mary E. Lyons
    Atheneum Books for Young Readers / 2012 / ePub
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW32499EB
  2. Elsie's Winter Trip - eBookeBOOK
    Elsie's Winter Trip - eBook
    Martha Finley
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2012 / ePub
    $2.36 Retail: $2.95 Save 20% ($0.59)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW31913EB
  3. Elsie and the Raymonds - eBookeBOOK
    Elsie and the Raymonds - eBook
    Martha Finley
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2011 / ePub
    $2.36 Retail: $2.95 Save 20% ($0.59)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW19059EB
  4. Elsie s Widowhood - eBookeBOOK
    Elsie s Widowhood - eBook
    Martha Finley
    Hendrickson Publishers / 2011 / ePub
    $2.36 Retail: $2.95 Save 20% ($0.59)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW18569EB

Publisher's Description

From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank.

   
Suzanne David's everyday life is suddenly shattered in 1940 when a bomb drops on the main square of her hometown, the city of Cherbourg, France, killing a pregnant neighbor right in front of her. Until then the war had seemed far away, not something that would touch her or her teenage friends. Now Suzanne's family is kicked out onto the street as German soldiers take over their house as a barracks.
    Suzanne clings to the one thing she really loves--singing. Her voice is so amazing that she is training to become an opera singer. As Suzanne travels around for rehearsals, cosume fittings, or lessons, she learns more about what the Nazis are doing and about the people who are "disappearing." Her travels are noticed by someone else, an organizer of the French Resistance. Soon Suzanne is a secret courier, a spy fighting for France and risking her own life for freedom.

[STAR] "This taut, engrossing World War II novel instantly immerses readers,...[but] the real focus, however, is the skin-crawling suspense story about one of France's youngest spies. Each chapter brings new intrigue and often shocking revelations...resonat[ing] with authenticity, excitement, and heart."-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] "This suspenseful novel,...based on a true story, moves swiftly into action...Filled, but not laden, with the events of the war, and peppered with French language and the culture of music, this novel will appeal to readers who enjoy history and espionage."-SLJ, Starred

[STAR] "Based on Bradley’s interviews with the real Suzanne, this is an exciting account of a girl’s coming of age in a scary time. The historical context is neatly woven into the story."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"The action will have readers on the edge through the tense conclusion, and the epilogue is not to be missed."-The Bulletin

"A highly compelling look at the covert battle for freedom."-Publishers Weekly

An IRA Teachers' Choice
An ALA Amelia Bloomer Selection
A VOYA Top Shelf Fiction Selection
A New York Public Library Book Pick
A Bank Street College Best Book of the Year



From the Hardcover edition.

Author Bio

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley is the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of several novels, including Ruthie's Gift, One-of-a-Kind Mallie, Weaver's Daughter, Halfway to the Sky, and For Freedom: The Story of a French Spy. Bradley and her husband have two children and they live on a farm in eastern Tennesse, in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains.


From the Hardcover edition.

Editorial Reviews

[STAR] "This taut, engrossing World War II novel instantly immerses readers,...[but] the real focus, however, is the skin-crawling suspense story about one of France's youngest spies. Each chapter brings new intrigue and often shocking revelations...resonat[ing] with authenticity, excitement, and heart."-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] "This suspenseful novel,...based on a true story, moves swiftly into action...Filled, but not laden, with the events of the war, and peppered with French language and the culture of music, this novel will appeal to readers who enjoy history and espionage."-SLJ

[STAR] "Based on Bradley’s interviews with the real Suzanne, this is an exciting account of a girl’s coming of age in a scary time. The historical context is neatly woven into the story."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred

"The action will have readers on the edge through the tense conclusion, and the epilogue is not to be missed."-The Bulletin

"A highly compelling look at the covert battle for freedom."-Publishers Weekly

An IRA Teachers' Choice
An ALA Amelia Bloomer Selection
A VOYA Top Shelf Fiction Selection
A New York Public Library Book Pick
A Bank Street College Best Book of the Year



From the Hardcover edition.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search