More Than Enchanting: Breaking Through Barriers to  Influence Your World  -     By: Jo Saxton
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $15.00 Save 33% ($5.01) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

More Than Enchanting: Breaking Through Barriers to Influence Your World

Inter-Varsity Press / 2012 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.00
|
Save 33% ($5.01)
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/14/15.
Email me when this product is available.
CBD Stock No: WW836510

Current Promotions

Product Description

Women who doubt their influence, who struggle to accept their distinct strengths and talents for what they are--gifts given through them to the world--suffer for it. The church, and really all of society, suffers with them. Jo Saxton invites women to discover (or rediscover) the gifts and talents that God has vested in us, and more important, the calling he has placed on each of us to seek first the kingdom of God where we are.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 208
Vendor: Inter-Varsity Press
Publication Date: 2012
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0830836519
ISBN-13: 9780830836512
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/14/15.
Email me when this product is available.

Related Products

  1. Woman of Influence: Ten Traits of Those Who Want to Make a Difference
    Woman of Influence: Ten Traits of Those Who Want to Make a Difference
    Pam Farrel
    Inter-Varsity Press / 2006 / Trade Paperback
    $12.99 Retail: $18.00 Save 28% ($5.01)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW23621
  2. Women of Influence, Women of Vision: A Cross-  Generational Study of Leaders and Social Change
    Women of Influence, Women of Vision: A Cross- Generational Study of Leaders and Social Change
    Helen S Astin, Carole Leland
    John Wiley & Sons / 1991 / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $33.00 Save 88% ($29.01)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW952214
  3. Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others
    Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others
    Carol Kent
    NavPress / 2006 / Trade Paperback
    $7.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 47% ($7.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 9 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW39338
  4. Women Rising: A Challenge to Stand Up and Step Out into a Life of Influence
    Women Rising: A Challenge to Stand Up and Step Out into a Life of Influence
    Amanda Antcliff
    Creation House / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $13.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 10% ($1.50)
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW381318

Publisher's Description

Women have always been central to the life of the church. From the early hours of the first Easter, when women were charged to announce the resurrection of Jesus, to the state of the contemporary church, where women outnumber men in pews and positions of service. But as central as women have been, they've also found themselves regularly marginalized--and not only in the church but in the neighborhoods, cities and societies they inhabit. Sometimes they've had to endure the well-intended biases or benign neglect of the leaders of their communities; sometimes they've been sidelined by their own crises of confidence. Sometimes they've had to contend with both at once. Women who doubt their influence, who struggle to accept their distinct strengths and talents for what they are--gifts given through them to the world--suffer for it. The church, and really all of society, suffers with them. Jo Saxton invites women to discover (or rediscover) the gifts and talents that God has vested in us, and more important, the calling he has placed on each of us to seek first the kingdom of God where we are.

Author Bio

Born and raised in London, Jo Saxton worked at the influential St.Thomas's Church, Sheffield, before moving to southern California with her pastor husband, Chris, and two daughters. Jo is a popular speaker throughout the United States and England, and a director of 3D Ministries, an organization that equips church leaders to create missional, discipleship-centered communities. Alan Hirsch is the founding Director of Forge Mission Training Network. He is the co-founder of shapevine.com, an international forum for engaging with world transforming ideas. He leads Future Travelers, a learning journey applying missional-incarnational approaches to established churches and is an active participant in The Tribe of LA, a Jesus community among artists and creatives in Los Angeles. Known for his innovative approach to mission, Hirsch is a teacher and key mission strategist for churches across the western world. His popular book (with Michael Frost) is widely considered to be a seminal text on mission. Alan's recent book , has quickly become a key reference for missional thinking, particularly as it relates to movements. His book is a radical restatement about the role that Jesus plays in defining missional movements. , his latest book (with his wife Debra) is about missional discipleship for a missional church. His experience in leadership includes leading a local church movement among the marginalized as well as heading up the Mission and Revitalization work of his denomination. Hirsch is an adjunct professor at Fuller Seminary and lectures frequently throughout Australia, Europe, and the U.S. Debra Hirsch has led churches and ministries among young adults, the poor and the LGBT community in Australia and America for over twenty years. She is a minister of an eclectic bunch of missional artists and vagabonds who meet in downtown Los Angeles called the Tribe of Los Angeles, and she is coauthor (with Alan Hirsch) of . She also serves on the leadership team of the Forge Missions Training Network and Christian Associates International and on the steering team for the Missio Alliance.

Editorial Reviews

"Jo Saxton is a leader, visionary, practitioner and voice that leaders need to hear. This book is an essential resource for anyone serious about investing in the emerging generation of women leaders."
"Saxton has changed the conversation. She has catapulted us beyond the same tired debates, the old unanswerable questions and past paradigms to an unmistakable call to action. Women can no longer sit idly on the sidelines or argumentatively in the halls of debate but must step into their unique calling and work in the kingdom. This book is important for all women who influence--from the family to the marketplace to the church. It is also an important read for the men who lead them and are led by them."
"In the tradition of Carolyn Custis James, Jo Saxton encourages women to live beyond cultural assumptions and churchy expectations and to live fully into our calling. More Than Enchanting is a must-read for women--whether they are secure in their callings or just finding their feet."
"Every woman is a queen with her own unique kingdom of influence. Jo Saxton's compelling book not only reminds us as women to invest in our own heart of leadership but to invest in women everywhere."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. One Thousand Gifts: All Five Sessions Bundle [Video Download]DOWNLOAD
    One Thousand Gifts: All Five Sessions Bundle [Video Download]
    Ann Voskamp
    Zondervan / Video Download
    $14.95
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW559792
  2. One Thousand Gifts Participant's Guide: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
    One Thousand Gifts Participant's Guide: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are
    Ann Voskamp
    Zondervan / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $7.49 Retail: $10.99 Save 32% ($3.50)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 4 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW684381
    Video
  3. One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are, Paperback
    One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are, Paperback
    Ann Voskamp
    Zondervan / Trade Paperback
    $6.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 53% ($8.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 251 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW620853

Availability

Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/14/15. You may order this item now and we will ship it to you when it arrives. If you are charging this purchase to a credit card, you will not be charged for this item and its portion of your shipping charges until it is shipped.

Send Me Email  Email me when this product is available.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search