Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Dying to Read, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #1
    Dying to Read, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #1
    Lorena McCourtney
    Revell / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 80% ($12.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 32 Reviews
    Availability: Expected to ship on or about .
    CBD Stock No: WW721580
4.4 Stars Out Of 5
4.4 out of 5
(16)
(13)
(3)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Value:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
97%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 16-20 of 32
Page 4 of 7 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last
  1. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Brand New P.I. And A Mystery Thriller
    August 23, 2012
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Lorena McCourtney in her new book "Dying to Read" Book One in The Cate Kinkaid Files series published by Revell Books introduces us to Cate Kinkaid.

    From the Back Cover: All she wanted was a paycheck. What she got was a murder.

    Cate Kinkaid's life is . . . well, frankly it's floundering. Her social life, her career, her haircut-they're all a mess. Unemployed, she jumps at the chance to work for her PI uncle, even though she has no experience and no instincts. After all, she is just dabbling in the world of private investigating until she can find a "real" job.

    All she has to do for her first assignment is determine that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right? But when she reaches the dark Victorian house, she runs into an hungry horde of gray-haired mystery readers and a dead body. This routine PI job is turning out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?

    The classic murder mystery tales are not dead they just took a long siesta that's all. However, with "Dying to Read" nap time is over and it is time to do some serious investigating. There have always been amateur sleuths, most of them knew what they were doing this is the first time I have ever found an investigator that really didn't have a clue as to what to do. Ms. McCourtney has given us a prize in Cate Kincaid. She is just a lot of fun and we are with her as she is just like us as most of us would not know what to handle an investigation either. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. McCourtney is an excellent writer who knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book, and I am glad I have found Lorena McCourtney and am looking forward to the next book in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  2. Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    I want to read more!
    August 22, 2012
    Faith and Family Reviews
    Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Are you Dying To Read? Gotta love that book title, eh? :)

    I found this book to be entertaining. Lorena definitely kept me guessing and eager to keep reading in order to solve the mystery. I never did solve the mystery and had an ah-ha moment when it was finally revealed.

    Though Cate's character didn't seem to think very highly of herself. I found her to be strong, not easily swayed and possessed a very good work ethic.

    I liked that this book only had a hint of romance. It was mostly about the mystery and how Cate went about trying to solve it. I can't say there was anything I didn't like about it, only that it ended too soon and I want the second book....now!

    This was the first book I have read by Lorena McCourtney and Dying to Read made me want to read her other books. It was quite refreshing.

    "Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
  3. DAVENPORT, FL
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    JOIN YOUR BOOK CLUB CAREFULLY. . .
    August 21, 2012
    THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
    DAVENPORT, FL
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Cate Kinkaid is ...ummm....going through a career crisis. She always intended to be a teacher, but after graduating from college with a degree in education, she discovered that she just isn't a good teacher. She has had some interesting jobs since then, but nothing permanent. While waiting for something to turn up, she has accepted an offer from her uncle to work in his PI firm. Nothing too exciting; just an address confirmation. But when the address confirmation turns up a dead body and a long list of suspects, Cate finds her temp position to be more exciting than she ever imagined.

    Yay! This "cozy little mystery" turned out to be good! Certain phrases often worry me, and that's one of them. And to perfectly honest, I often worry about Christian fiction. Anyone who has read my reviews in the past already knows that, but I just have to say it; in the past, authors have had a hard time combining Christian values with either romance, murder, or dishonesty. They usually went heavy handed with the values and soft-soaped the "bad stuff". NEWS FLASH: It's a real world and bad stuff happens. So, when an author comes along like Ms. McCourtney and manages to realistically portray Christians in a real world, I'm happy. I know it's still fiction, and it's still a "cozy" mystery, but it's not too cozy. And that's the way I like my mysteries.

    5 stars

    "Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
  4. Northeast
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Such a fun book!
    August 21, 2012
    CT Reader
    Northeast
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I love Lorena McCourtney's books and was so excited that she has this new series out. This is such a fun book. It's interesting with its plot twists and also funny. I don't know how she comes up with such funny and unexpected turns. I'm very much looking forward to the next book in the series.
  5. a sunny island
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    August 21, 2012
    sunny island breezes
    a sunny island
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I want to read more books about Cate Kinkaid. I've always loved mysteries, and have to admit to a secret desire to become a PI. Well, I guess that's not a secret anymore.

    Cate seems to have spent a lot of time bungling through life. I guess that's why it was no surprise to see her bungle through a murder investigation.

    She also managed to bungle through one love relationship, and got off to a rough start with another one.

    I certainly hope Ms. McCourtney plans on writing a lot of these Cate mysteries. I'm also interested in learning more about Mitch. And then there's Willow. I hope she pops up every now and then.
Displaying items 16-20 of 32
Page 4 of 7 First| Previous 23456 Next |Last