Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Dying to Read, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #1
    Dying to Read, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #1
    Lorena McCourtney
    Revell / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $8.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 40% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 29 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721580
4.3 Stars Out Of 5
4.3 out of 5
(13)
(13)
(3)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Value:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
97%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 29
Page 3 of 6 First| Previous 12345 Next |Last
  1. Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    a quirky read
    August 27, 2012
    Linda
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 3
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 2
    I chose this book, because I wanted to find out what a ‘cosy mystery' is. Since ‘cosy' is not a word I would associate with mystery, I was always intrigued when I saw the phrase. So, I learned that ‘cozies' include amateur detectives, take place in a small community, have quirky character and violence is often toned down by humour. (Hope I got all that right.) And this book has a whole lot of quirky.

    The storyline in this book didn't really keep my eyes glued to the page, but just piqued my interest enough to keep reading. I also didn't come away yearning for the next book in the series. I did however enjoy the quirky characters, especially the ladies in the Whodunit Club and Cate Kincade, a clueless, but lovable private investigator wannabe. Octavia, the cat, who also falls under ‘quirky' is a good fit with the other characters. With all the lies dished out in this tale, I was eager to find out ‘whodunit'.

    I would have loved to see more dialogue - much of the story is Cate's thought process. But it is an interesting way to get to know a main character, I suppose. If you like a slow-paced, peculiar and amusing read, this one will do. As for me, if it's a mystery, I like the characters who solve it to be professionals in the field.

    "Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
  2. 3 Stars Out Of 5
    2.5 stars
    August 25, 2012
    i blog 4 books
    Dying to Read by Lorena McCourtney is a cute, cozy mystery featuring the trials of Cate Kinkaid as she steps up to help her uncle and take on her first case as a private investigator. I had high hopes for the novel after reading only a few pages. McCourtney had me laughing and certain that I would enjoy getting to know Cate over the next 300 pages. Unfortunately, the novel moved along slowly and I had trouble staying motivated to read. The last 70-80 pages picked up, though, and the novel ended with a bang—including an ending to the mystery that was unexpected (in a good way). By the end, I had also warmed up to Cate's character.

    This novel didn't totally click with me, but many of the other reviews have been singing McCourtney's praise for this cozy. [2.5 stars]

    I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  3. Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Brand New P.I. And A Mystery Thriller
    August 23, 2012
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Lorena McCourtney in her new book "Dying to Read" Book One in The Cate Kinkaid Files series published by Revell Books introduces us to Cate Kinkaid.

    From the Back Cover: All she wanted was a paycheck. What she got was a murder.

    Cate Kinkaid's life is . . . well, frankly it's floundering. Her social life, her career, her haircut-they're all a mess. Unemployed, she jumps at the chance to work for her PI uncle, even though she has no experience and no instincts. After all, she is just dabbling in the world of private investigating until she can find a "real" job.

    All she has to do for her first assignment is determine that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right? But when she reaches the dark Victorian house, she runs into an hungry horde of gray-haired mystery readers and a dead body. This routine PI job is turning out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?

    The classic murder mystery tales are not dead they just took a long siesta that's all. However, with "Dying to Read" nap time is over and it is time to do some serious investigating. There have always been amateur sleuths, most of them knew what they were doing this is the first time I have ever found an investigator that really didn't have a clue as to what to do. Ms. McCourtney has given us a prize in Cate Kincaid. She is just a lot of fun and we are with her as she is just like us as most of us would not know what to handle an investigation either. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. McCourtney is an excellent writer who knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book, and I am glad I have found Lorena McCourtney and am looking forward to the next book in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  4. Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    I want to read more!
    August 22, 2012
    Faith and Family Reviews
    Chicago, IL
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Are you Dying To Read? Gotta love that book title, eh? :)

    I found this book to be entertaining. Lorena definitely kept me guessing and eager to keep reading in order to solve the mystery. I never did solve the mystery and had an ah-ha moment when it was finally revealed.

    Though Cate's character didn't seem to think very highly of herself. I found her to be strong, not easily swayed and possessed a very good work ethic.

    I liked that this book only had a hint of romance. It was mostly about the mystery and how Cate went about trying to solve it. I can't say there was anything I didn't like about it, only that it ended too soon and I want the second book....now!

    This was the first book I have read by Lorena McCourtney and Dying to Read made me want to read her other books. It was quite refreshing.

    "Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
  5. DAVENPORT, FL
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    JOIN YOUR BOOK CLUB CAREFULLY. . .
    August 21, 2012
    THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
    DAVENPORT, FL
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Cate Kinkaid is ...ummm....going through a career crisis. She always intended to be a teacher, but after graduating from college with a degree in education, she discovered that she just isn't a good teacher. She has had some interesting jobs since then, but nothing permanent. While waiting for something to turn up, she has accepted an offer from her uncle to work in his PI firm. Nothing too exciting; just an address confirmation. But when the address confirmation turns up a dead body and a long list of suspects, Cate finds her temp position to be more exciting than she ever imagined.

    Yay! This "cozy little mystery" turned out to be good! Certain phrases often worry me, and that's one of them. And to perfectly honest, I often worry about Christian fiction. Anyone who has read my reviews in the past already knows that, but I just have to say it; in the past, authors have had a hard time combining Christian values with either romance, murder, or dishonesty. They usually went heavy handed with the values and soft-soaped the "bad stuff". NEWS FLASH: It's a real world and bad stuff happens. So, when an author comes along like Ms. McCourtney and manages to realistically portray Christians in a real world, I'm happy. I know it's still fiction, and it's still a "cozy" mystery, but it's not too cozy. And that's the way I like my mysteries.

    5 stars

    "Available August 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
Displaying items 11-15 of 29
Page 3 of 6 First| Previous 12345 Next |Last