Dying to Decorate - eBook  -     By: Cyndy Salzmann
Buy Item $8.22 Retail: $9.46 Save 13% ($1.24) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Dying to Decorate - eBook

Howard Books / 2010 / ePub

$8.22 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $9.46
|
Save 13% ($1.24)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW9514EB

Current Promotions
* This product is available for purchase only in the USA. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Read this eBook on:


ChristianBook eBooks on the Sony Reader

  1. 1

    To read a Christianbook.com licensed eBook on your Sony device, you will need to use Adobe Digital Editions.

  2. 2

    Without using ADE, the Sony Reader will attempt to open eBooks with its own software, the Reader Library, and you may receive an error message.

  3. 3

    To bypass the Sony Reader Library, return to the eBook portion of 'My Account' on our site, and click to download the eBook again.

  4. 4

    When the Adobe Digital Editions installer comes up, click on 'Download Item.'

  5. 5

    If you are downloading a DRM Protected eBook, you will be prompted to open or save the URLLINK.acsm. Click 'Save'.

  6. 6

    Save the file to your Desktop for quick access later.

  7. 7

    Right-click on the URLLINK file, then select 'Open With' and choose Adobe Digital Editions.

  8. 8

    If Adobe Digital Editions is not in the list, click 'Choose Default Program' and then select Adobe Digital Editions from the list.

  9. 9

    Your eBook will open and display in ADE.

  10. 10

    Plug in your Sony Reader, which will now display its model number and not just as Sony Reader.

  11. 11

    Now just click, drag and drop your eBook onto the Sony Reader icon.

  12. 12

    You can now eject your Sony Reader, open up the Books library and your eBook is ready to read.



Have questions about eBooks? Check out our eBook FAQs.

Product Information

Format: DRM Protected ePub
Vendor: Howard Books
Publication Date: 2010
ISBN: 9781451605464
ISBN-13: 9781451605464
Availability: In Stock
Series: Friday Afternoon Club Mystery

Publisher's Description

Just as The Babysitter's Club series successfully captured a generation of young girls, Cyndy Salzmann's Friday Afternoon Club series lays claim to moms who cherish long-standing friendship . . . and a bit of mystery.

While juggling the responsibilities of carpool, laundry, and ballet lessons, this group of close friends find time to act as sleuths, unraveling mysteries, and gaining spiritual truths along the way. Readers will readily identify with these richly drawn characters caught in the chaos of raising a family, maintaining friendships, and sorting out the items of intrigue that draws them in.

Product Reviews

4.2 Stars Out Of 5
4.2 out of 5
(7)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(1)
Quality:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Value:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
0%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 11
Page 1 of 3 123 Next
  1. sca
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    October 19, 2009
    sca
    This was a great read. Entertaining, informative (I learned some history about the underground railroad), and CLEAN. All combined to make easy and fun reading.
  2. Jennie Beth
    Northern Colorado
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    2 Stars Out Of 5
    November 7, 2008
    Jennie Beth
    Northern Colorado
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    I picked up this book because I'm interested in decorating and mysteries, so it sounded like the perfect book for me. The story really has nothing to do with either decorating or a mystery. The recipes were very good, though! Maybe she should write a cookbook...
  3. andi
    1 Stars Out Of 5
    August 22, 2008
    andi
    If you are looking for a good mystery...keep looking, this isn't it...an interesting tale with possibilities, maybe, some historical inaccuracies, yes, but not a mystery.The characters are a mismatch of personalities and as supposed believers, I find the attitudes and actions of some to be contrary to that ideal. A loud, obnoxious policewoman who is impatient and rude to all and disrespectful to "Aunt Bette" an elderly woman key to the tale. Another woman is a know-it-all, pushy, domineering "professional" that disregards the speed limit and safe driving and when pulled over by an officer "sweet talks" her way out of a ticket. The main character lets her family and friends treat her like a door mat. There are no consequences to bad behavior. Sure she has a sense of humor, but absolutely no backbone. As a homeschooling mom I'm tired right down to my Birkenstocks of the homeschooling mother being portrayed as the hippie out of time...the quintessential "earth mother"...please!Now to the story, it supposes that the Underground railroad ran through Nebraska where the story is set. An historical stretch. Then of course it deals with the escaped slaves from THE EVIL SOUTH, as it is always portrayed. Will anyone ever write an accurate story about slavery or will we continue to paint with a broad and often inaccurate brush of the south, plantation owners and slavery? One thing I did like was the pages. They have a quilt watermark decorating a portion of each spread, very nice touch, but using the Log Cabin pattern mentioned might have been nicer. I too, as an avid quilter had heard the story of the "Quilt Maps" or quilt codes and found upon further investigation that the Quilt Codes are not supported by historians or quilters or facts, and are pure myth popularized and passed on in the past several years. For more documentation on how the story began you can go to http://ugrrquilt.hartcottagequilts.com/
  4. Judy Fedele
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    October 24, 2006
    Judy Fedele
    Dying to Decorate by author Cyndy Salzmann is the first in the Friday Afternoon Club Series. The narrator of the story is a woman named Liz, a stay-at-home mom who writes a newspaper column (think Martha Stewart meets Flylady). The friends in the Friday Afternoon Club, or FAC, get together weekly to get a little R&R from their all-too busy lives. They support each other with fierce devotion, and when one of the members goes AWOL from the club for a few weeks, they go on a rescue mission. The group learns that their friend Lucy, recovering from the deaths in the past year of both her husband and her mother, has slid into a depression. She has also recently inherited an old Civil War style home from an elderly aunt, and the FAC thinks it will be the perfect diversion to nudge Lucy away from her slump. The group determines to have a decorating party/get-away weekend to help restore the lovely old house. Startling discoveries and a secret diary found hidden in the house from Civil War times raise serious questions about the history of Lucys past relatives. With help from the diary and Lucys Aunt Bette, the group learns about true strength of character and sacrificial heroism that begins at home.While the novel isnt a mystery in the classic sense, it has great sense of suspense as the story unfolds. Add to that a wonderfully refreshing humor intertwined in a very satisfying story. If that isnt enough, the book includes many wonderful recipes that tie into each chapter. To a book-loving foodie, its the ultimate in reading. With recipes like Melt-In-Your-Mouth Pot Roast, Im So Sorry Snickerdoodles, and Lizs Triple Chocolate Pecan Brownies, its a struggle to decide whether to finish reading or to hit the kitchen to whip up some of the goodies laced throughout the book. Its a fantastic read all around, and I cant wait for the next installment in the series. Her next book, Crime and Clutter (A Friday Afternoon Club Mystery) is scheduled to be released in
  5. Deborah
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    October 23, 2006
    Deborah
    I've said before, I love reading books about food. Reading a novel that has the recipes it mentions is even better. As soon as I'm done with the book, I want to start making the food. What's even better is when the recipes are super easy for non cooks like me.Dying to Decorate has all this and more. I really want to be able to find friends like the ladies in the Friday Afternoon Club when I reach that age. The friends meet every Friday (hence the name) for a time of fellowship, fun and food. Each woman has a very different personality that meshes well and doesn't clash with other. One of the members inherits a Civil War era house from her great aunt and the FAC goes to help her renovate it. During their stay, they discover the history of the house and how it will eventually change their own outlook on life. I enjoyed the book tremendously. My favorite scene was when John and Liz go out to dinner and stop by a coffeehouse. They order their coffee and John thinks he is splurging by ordering a grande. His reaction to the actual size of his cup as compared to Liz's venti is hilarious. I've been in Starbucks lots of times to hear people get confused and complain about the sizes. Sooooo relatable.I'd recommend this book for fans of The Potluck Club or The Yada Yada Prayer Group. I really related to this book even though I'm the same age of the characters' kids! This book has it all: food, mystery, fun and even a history lesson! I am definitely looking forward to the next FAC adventure. I'm thinking about making that coconut cream pie or the baked potato soup...although I think I might pass on the pioneer mush :)
Displaying items 1-5 of 11
Page 1 of 3 123 Next

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search