#1: Dying to Decorate, A Friday Afternoon Club Mystery Series  -     By: Cyndy Salzmann
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $8.22 eBook Details

#1: Dying to Decorate, A Friday Afternoon Club Mystery Series

Howard Books / 2005 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $12.99
|
Save 23% ($3.00)
Buy 24 or more for $9.49 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW29455X

Current Promotions

Product Description

Meet the Friday Afternoon Club, a band of feisty mothers who, when they're not busy with carpools, music lessons, and never-ending laundry, try their hand at sleuthing and solving mysteries. When one of the members inherits an old mansion, the rest are just Dying to Decorate it---and in the process uncover a shocking surprise! 256 pages, softcover from Howard.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 256
Vendor: Howard Books
Publication Date: 2005
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.5 (inches)
ISBN: 1582294550
ISBN-13: 9781582294551
Availability: In Stock
Series: Friday Afternoon Club Mystery

Related Products

  1. The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
    The Trouble with Tulip, A Smart Chick Mystery #1
    Mindy Starns Clark
    Harvest House Publishers / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 12 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW1485X
  2. Fiesta Moon, Moonstruck Series #2
    Fiesta Moon, Moonstruck Series #2
    Linda Windsor
    Thomas Nelson / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 21% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 2 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW260633
  3. Crime & Clutter, Friday Afternoon Club Mystery Series #2
    Crime & Clutter, Friday Afternoon Club Mystery Series #2
    Cyndy Salzmann
    Howard Books / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 23% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 10 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW296448

Publisher's Description

Just as "The Babysitter's Club" series successfully captured a generation of young girls, Cyndy Salzmann's Friday Afternoon Club series lays claim to moms who cherish long-standing friendship . . . and a bit of mystery. While juggling the responsibilities of carpool, laundry, and ballet lessons, this group of close friends find time to act as sleuths, unraveling mysteries and gaining spiritual truths along the way. Readers will readily identify with these richly drawn characters caught in the chaos of raising a family, maintaining friendships, and sorting out the items of intrigue that draw them in.

Author Bio

Cindy Salzmann is a wife and mother who does much of her writing on the back of fast food wrappers -- usually while waiting to pick up her children. Desperate for an excuse to avoid laundry, she has written three Christian nonfiction books, launched a national speaking career, and taught her children how to sort colors. Dying to Decorate is her first novel and first book of the Friday Afternoon Club Mystery series. Cyndy and her family live in Omaha, Nebraska.

Product Reviews

4.2 Stars Out Of 5
4.2 out of 5
(7)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(1)
Quality:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Value:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
out Of 5
( out of 5)
0%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 11
Page 1 of 3 123 Next
  1. 4 Stars Out Of 5
    October 19, 2009
    sca
    This was a great read. Entertaining, informative (I learned some history about the underground railroad), and CLEAN. All combined to make easy and fun reading.
  2. Northern Colorado
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    2 Stars Out Of 5
    November 7, 2008
    Jennie Beth
    Northern Colorado
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    I picked up this book because I'm interested in decorating and mysteries, so it sounded like the perfect book for me. The story really has nothing to do with either decorating or a mystery. The recipes were very good, though! Maybe she should write a cookbook...
  3. 1 Stars Out Of 5
    August 22, 2008
    andi
    If you are looking for a good mystery...keep looking, this isn't it...an interesting tale with possibilities, maybe, some historical inaccuracies, yes, but not a mystery.The characters are a mismatch of personalities and as supposed believers, I find the attitudes and actions of some to be contrary to that ideal. A loud, obnoxious policewoman who is impatient and rude to all and disrespectful to "Aunt Bette" an elderly woman key to the tale. Another woman is a know-it-all, pushy, domineering "professional" that disregards the speed limit and safe driving and when pulled over by an officer "sweet talks" her way out of a ticket. The main character lets her family and friends treat her like a door mat. There are no consequences to bad behavior. Sure she has a sense of humor, but absolutely no backbone. As a homeschooling mom I'm tired right down to my Birkenstocks of the homeschooling mother being portrayed as the hippie out of time...the quintessential "earth mother"...please!Now to the story, it supposes that the Underground railroad ran through Nebraska where the story is set. An historical stretch. Then of course it deals with the escaped slaves from THE EVIL SOUTH, as it is always portrayed. Will anyone ever write an accurate story about slavery or will we continue to paint with a broad and often inaccurate brush of the south, plantation owners and slavery? One thing I did like was the pages. They have a quilt watermark decorating a portion of each spread, very nice touch, but using the Log Cabin pattern mentioned might have been nicer. I too, as an avid quilter had heard the story of the "Quilt Maps" or quilt codes and found upon further investigation that the Quilt Codes are not supported by historians or quilters or facts, and are pure myth popularized and passed on in the past several years. For more documentation on how the story began you can go to http://ugrrquilt.hartcottagequilts.com/
  4. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    October 24, 2006
    Judy Fedele
    Dying to Decorate by author Cyndy Salzmann is the first in the Friday Afternoon Club Series. The narrator of the story is a woman named Liz, a stay-at-home mom who writes a newspaper column (think Martha Stewart meets Flylady). The friends in the Friday Afternoon Club, or FAC, get together weekly to get a little R&R from their all-too busy lives. They support each other with fierce devotion, and when one of the members goes AWOL from the club for a few weeks, they go on a rescue mission. The group learns that their friend Lucy, recovering from the deaths in the past year of both her husband and her mother, has slid into a depression. She has also recently inherited an old Civil War style home from an elderly aunt, and the FAC thinks it will be the perfect diversion to nudge Lucy away from her slump. The group determines to have a decorating party/get-away weekend to help restore the lovely old house. Startling discoveries and a secret diary found hidden in the house from Civil War times raise serious questions about the history of Lucys past relatives. With help from the diary and Lucys Aunt Bette, the group learns about true strength of character and sacrificial heroism that begins at home.While the novel isnt a mystery in the classic sense, it has great sense of suspense as the story unfolds. Add to that a wonderfully refreshing humor intertwined in a very satisfying story. If that isnt enough, the book includes many wonderful recipes that tie into each chapter. To a book-loving foodie, its the ultimate in reading. With recipes like Melt-In-Your-Mouth Pot Roast, Im So Sorry Snickerdoodles, and Lizs Triple Chocolate Pecan Brownies, its a struggle to decide whether to finish reading or to hit the kitchen to whip up some of the goodies laced throughout the book. Its a fantastic read all around, and I cant wait for the next installment in the series. Her next book, Crime and Clutter (A Friday Afternoon Club Mystery) is scheduled to be released in
  5. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    October 23, 2006
    Deborah
    I've said before, I love reading books about food. Reading a novel that has the recipes it mentions is even better. As soon as I'm done with the book, I want to start making the food. What's even better is when the recipes are super easy for non cooks like me.Dying to Decorate has all this and more. I really want to be able to find friends like the ladies in the Friday Afternoon Club when I reach that age. The friends meet every Friday (hence the name) for a time of fellowship, fun and food. Each woman has a very different personality that meshes well and doesn't clash with other. One of the members inherits a Civil War era house from her great aunt and the FAC goes to help her renovate it. During their stay, they discover the history of the house and how it will eventually change their own outlook on life. I enjoyed the book tremendously. My favorite scene was when John and Liz go out to dinner and stop by a coffeehouse. They order their coffee and John thinks he is splurging by ordering a grande. His reaction to the actual size of his cup as compared to Liz's venti is hilarious. I've been in Starbucks lots of times to hear people get confused and complain about the sizes. Sooooo relatable.I'd recommend this book for fans of The Potluck Club or The Yada Yada Prayer Group. I really related to this book even though I'm the same age of the characters' kids! This book has it all: food, mystery, fun and even a history lesson! I am definitely looking forward to the next FAC adventure. I'm thinking about making that coconut cream pie or the baked potato soup...although I think I might pass on the pioneer mush :)
Displaying items 1-5 of 11
Page 1 of 3 123 Next

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Heidi Elliott Series, Vols 1-2
    Heidi Elliott Series, Vols 1-2
    NavPress / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $25.98 Save 85% ($21.99)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW765779
  2. The Fine Art of Insincerity - Slightly Imperfect
    The Fine Art of Insincerity - Slightly Imperfect
    Angela Hunt
    Howard Books / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $3.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 73% ($11.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW182031DA
  3. Falling for You Again, Four Seasons Series #3
    Falling for You Again, Four Seasons Series #3
    Catherine Palmer, Gary Chapman
    Tyndale House / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 21% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 3 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW311678
  4. Cate Kinkaid Files Series, Vols. 1-2
    Cate Kinkaid Files Series, Vols. 1-2
    Lorena McCourtney
    Baker Books / Trade Paperback
    $16.99 Retail: $29.98 Save 43% ($12.99)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW721510

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search