Critical Reaction    -     By: Todd M. Johnson
Buy Item $1.99 Retail: $15.00 Save 87% ($13.01) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Critical Reaction

Bethany House / 2013 / Paperback

$1.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $15.00
|
Save 87% ($13.01)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW210154

Current Promotions

Product Description

After decades of turning out plutonium for the arms race, the Hanford Nuclear Facility has long been shuttered, though its deadly legacy cannot be fully contained. The men who guard the facility from sabotage or monitor its buildings for radiation leaks are told the risks are under control. They believe it, until the worst happens: a thunderous explosion in the dead of night.

Two workers, lifer Poppy Martin and new hire Kieran Mullaney, believe themselves lucky to survive the blast. But as the debris is cleared, they discover their safety is not assured. Dead ends and closed doors halt their efforts to discover what really happened--and what radiation may have poisoned them. When stalling and threats force them into the hands of experienced trial lawyer Ryan Hart, they learn that theirs is no ordinary lawsuit. There is something still hidden in the desert of eastern Washington, and someone is willing to go to extreme lengths to make sure it never sees the light of day.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 368
Vendor: Bethany House
Publication Date: 2013
Dimensions: 8.50 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 0764210157
ISBN-13: 9780764210150
Availability: In Stock

Related Products

  1. An Elegant Solution
    An Elegant Solution
    Paul Robertson
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 80% ($12.00)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 12 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW205705
  2. The Deposit Slip
    The Deposit Slip
    Todd M. Johnson
    Bethany House / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 20 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW209864
  3. Deposit Slip, The - eBookeBOOK
    Deposit Slip, The - eBook
    Todd M. Johnson
    Bethany House / 2012 / ePub
    $9.69 Retail: $14.99 Save 35% ($5.30)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 3 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW28270EB
  4. According to Their Deeds - eBookeBOOK
    According to Their Deeds - eBook
    Paul Robertson
    Bethany House / 2009 / ePub
    $6.39 Retail: $7.99 Save 20% ($1.60)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW12612EB

Publisher's Description

When a Warning Siren Screams in the Desert Night,
the Worst Has Happened

After turning out plutonium for the Cold War, the shuttered Hanford Nuclear Facility's poisoned buildings may be a bigger risk than ever. The men who guard the facility from sabotage or monitor its buildings are told the dangers are under control. But then the worst happens--a thunderous explosion in the dead of night.

Kieran Mullaney survived the blast, but when threats and silence meet his attempts to discover what really happened, he reconnects with an old friend--inexperienced lawyer Emily Hart. Convinced Hanford is hiding something, they also realize their case is sunk without more help.

Emily's estranged father, Ryan, has the courtroom experience they need, but he's grown jaded and weary of the profession. Still, it's a chance to rebuild ties to Emily, and the deeper he digs, the stranger--and more dangerous--the case gets.

Author Bio

Todd M. Johnson has practiced law for over 30 years, specializing as a trial lawyer. A graduate of Princeton University and the University of Minnesota Law School, he has also served as a US diplomat in Hong Kong. He lives outside Minneapolis, Minnesota, with his wife and daughter. Learn more at www.authortoddjohnson.com.

Product Reviews

4.4 Stars Out Of 5
4.4 out of 5
(19)
(10)
(4)
(1)
(0)
Quality:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Value:
4.6 out Of 5
(4.6 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.3 out Of 5
(4.3 out of 5)
91%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 34
Page 1 of 7 12345 Next |Last
  1. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    Authentic Characters, Intense Plot
    February 23, 2015
    Book Lover
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Fans of Grisham & Patterson take note of Todd M Johnson. His second novel, Critical Reaction, is a legal suspense with well crafted characters, plot and dialog. You'll be loosing some sleep over this face-paced, complex, suspense-filled tale. Couldn't put it down. Screen writers should be standing in line to take this one to the cinema!
  2. Mission Viejo, California
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Critical Reaction
    August 23, 2014
    Luella Harris
    Mission Viejo, California
    Age: Over 65
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    LOVED this. Todd Johnson has become one of my favorite authors.
  3. Ruckersville, VA
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Will have you rooting for justice
    May 22, 2014
    Brenda Risner
    Ruckersville, VA
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 4
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Kieren becomes convinced that he's been dosed with radiation after an explosion at the nuclear facility where he worked. Secrets, unanswered questions, and a missing employee point to a cover up.

    As Kieren and his lawyer friend Emily seek the truth, things get increasingly dangerous.

    A legal thriller, fast-paced and well-written, Critical Reaction will keep you turning the pages and rooting for justice.

    Despite the company's denial, the suspicious activities following the "incident," lead some to believe that something sinister is going on. To discover the truth, you'll have to read Critical Reaction for yourself!

    I enjoyed this book. If you enjoy suspense and the thrill of the hunt for truth, I believe you'll enjoy this book as well.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House with the expectation of an unbiased review.
  4. Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    2 Stars Out Of 5
    Not Great
    February 12, 2014
    Jess88
    Age: Under 18
    Gender: female
    CRITICAL REACTION

    BY : TODD M. JOHNSON

    WHEN A WARNING SIREN (FINALLY) SCREAMS IN THE DESERT NIGHT, THE WORST HAS HAPPENED.

    Atfer turning out plutonium for the cold war, the shuttered Hanford Nuclear Facility's poisoned buildings may be a bigger risk than ever. the men who guard the facility from sabatage or monitor its buildings are told the dangers are under control. But are they really? Then the worst happens - a thunderous explosion in the dead of night. Kieran Mullaney survived the blast, but when threats and silence meet his attemps to discover what really happened, he reconnects with an old friend - inexperienced lawyer Emily Hart. Convinced Hanford is hiding something, they also realize the case is sunk without more help. Emily's estranged father, Ryan, has the courtroom experience they need, but he's grown jaded and weary of the profession. Still, it's a chance to rebuild ties to Emily, and the deeper he digs, the stranger - and more dangerous - the case gets.

    This is the first of Todd M. Johnson's books I've ever read and also the first legal thriller I've read but I didn't really like it. Most of the book was boring, I think it was because I never really connected with the characters. It was told more from the perspective of Emily's father than Kieran or Emily and I couldn't identify with him very much. I wish they would've been more suspense, and more development to the romance. There wasn't much to the spiritual aspect either, other than the mention of praying. One thing I did like in the book was a quote from Emily's mother, she said "never sue a teacher, or a farmer. and only take on the fights truly worth fighting," maybe someone who likes lawyer stuff etc would enjoy this book. But I just couldn't seem to get into it.

    Book has been provided courtesy of Bethany House a division of Baker
  5. 5 Stars Out Of 5
    What a page turner!
    January 29, 2014
    Pam Barry
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    What a page turner! The book started out with a bang - literally - and I was fearful it might get a little slow going during the trial scenes. However, this book was exciting from beginning to end!
Displaying items 1-5 of 34
Page 1 of 7 12345 Next |Last

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The Guardian
    The Guardian
    Robbie Cheuvront, William Reed
    Barbour Publishing / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $1.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 88% ($15.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 18 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW262785
    Video
  2. Saints Among Us, Grace Chapel Inn Series #16
    Saints Among Us, Grace Chapel Inn Series #16
    Anne Marie Rodgers
    Guideposts / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 79% ($11.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 6 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW948269
  3. The Priest's Graveyard
    The Priest's Graveyard
    Ted Dekker
    Center Street / 2011 / Hardcover
    $0.99 Retail: $24.99 Save 96% ($24.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 31 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW953340
    Video
  4. The Lighthouse Brides Collection
    The Lighthouse Brides Collection
    Andrea Boeshaar, Lynn Coleman, Sally Laity
    Barbour Publishing / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $3.79 Retail: $14.99 Save 75% ($11.20)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 3 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW162503

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search