Critical Care, Mercy Hospital Series #1   -     By: Candace Calvert
Buy Item $8.99 Retail: $12.99 Save 31% ($4.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $8.99 eBook Details

Critical Care, Mercy Hospital Series #1

Tyndale House / 2009 / Paperback

$8.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $12.99
|
Save 31% ($4.00)
Buy 48 or more for $8.54 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW325439

Current Promotions

Product Description

After her brother's tragic death fighting a fire, former trauma nurse Claire Avery can't face going back to the ER. But when she must offer staff counseling after a propane explosion in a local day care center, Claire's plan self-destructs. She's back in the ER, battling painful memories-and the handsome and surly doctor who thrives on chaos. Dr. Logan Caldwell has learned to distance himself from painful emotion. He expects his ER staff to be as tough as he is, and when hospital administration sends a beautiful but pushy education nurse to offer counseling, he'll have none of it.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 350
Vendor: Tyndale House
Publication Date: 2009
Dimensions: 8.25 X 5.50 (inches)
ISBN: 1414325436
ISBN-13: 9781414325439
Availability: In Stock
Series: Mercy Hospital

Related Products

  1. Stainless Steal Hearts
    Stainless Steal Hearts
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Save 25% $15.99 $11.99
  2. Claire McCall Series, Volumes 1-3
    Claire McCall Series, Volumes 1-3
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Save 31% $44.97 $30.99
  3. Fair Warning
    Fair Warning
    Hannah Alexander
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Save 14% $6.99 $5.99
  4. Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
    Code Blue, Prescription for Trouble Series #1
    Richard L. Mabry, M.D.
    5 Stars Out Of 5 22 Reviews
    Save 20% $14.99 $11.99
    Video

Publisher's Description

After her brother dies in a trauma room, nurse Claire Avery can no longer face the ER. She's determined to make a fresh start—new hospital, new career in nursing education—move forward, no turning back. But her plans fall apart when she's called to offer stress counseling for medical staff after a heartbreaking day care center explosion. Worse, she's forced back to the ER, where she clashes with Logan Caldwell, a doctor who believes touchy-feely counseling is a waste of time. He demands his staff be as tough as he is. Yet he finds himself drawn to this nurse educator . . . who just might teach him the true meaning of healing.

ChristianBookPreviews

Candace Calvert’s Critical Care offers a heart-warming story, delving deep into the characters’ lives as they struggle with life’s relevant, common issues. Nurse Claire Avery has her future mapped out perfectly -- until she is assigned to work in the ER. Claire finds her world spinning out of her control after dealing with a tragedy that hits too close to home and meeting Logan Caldwell, a handsome doctor. Their lives collide as they try figure out the true meaning of healing and hope.

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’” Claire learns that her plans don’t always match what God has in store. After meeting Logan, her heart begins to heal in ways she never thought possible. Logan also learns a few lessons of his own after one of his co-workers becomes injured in a car accident, and both Claire and Logan learn to agree to disagree.

The plot is believable and easy to follow, and the dialogue is fluid and lifelike. Calvert, herself an ER nurse, incorporates medical terminology and jargon but is sure not to overwhelm the reader. The book is biblically sound, offering godly perspectives on how to deal with tragedy and relationships. Calvert does not tie up all the loose ends, leaving the reader wanting a sequel.

I enjoyed the book; the first chapter hooked me, and the rest flowed quickly and smoothly. The ending does not disappoint. Calvert keeps her main characters front and center, yet she artfully develops supporting characters. I highly recommend this book; it would make an excellent gift, as almost every woman should enjoy it. Critical Care is ideal for fans of ER and Grey’s Anatomy and will entertain women of all ages. This well-written novel is the perfect pleasure book and an excellent addition to any book collection, sure to uplift and encourage its readers spiritually. – Caitlin Wilson, www.ChristianBookPreviews.com

Product Reviews

Product Q&A



Other Customers Also Purchased

Author/Artist Review

Author: Candace Calvert
Submitted: April 15, 2010

    Tell us a little about yourself.  I'm a former ER nurse who landed "on the other side of the stethoscope" after an equestrian accident that broke my neck . . . and restored my faith. The dramatic story of my accident and recovery was chosen for Chicken Soup for the Nurse's Soul and began my writing career. I'm also a wife, mother and proud grandmother of six; love cooking, bird watching, cruise travel--and am my husband's biggest karaoke fan.

    What was your motivation behind this project?  I've long been disappointed that the very popular TV medical dramas--while offering plenty of action--rarely address issues of faith. As a nurse I know how many prayers are sent heavenward from hospitals by patients, family and medical staff. My Mercy Hospital series offers all the adrenalin-infused drama and adds a soothing prescription for hope. Critical Care introduces the series, inviting readers to "scrub in" as part of the team.

    What do you hope folks will gain from this project?  I think readers will enjoy "behind the scenes" glimpses into the exciting world of emergency medicine . . . and into the hearts of medical, fire, and rescue personnel--real heroes all. In the end I believe they will feel uplifted by the story's encouraging message. It's been said that I write medical "hope opera"--I love that.

    How were you personally impacted by working on this project?  It's wonderful to be able to reach out to and entertain readers, while at the same time honoring the folks who spend their lives in service to others. The underlying spiritual theme for Critical Care is base on Jer. 29:11. And I feel blessed that writing this book--this series--is part of God's loving plan for my future.

    Anything else you'd like readers / listeners to know:  I welcome you all to visit my website and my blog RX:Hope. You can also connect with me via Twitter and my Facebook Fan Page, Candace Calvert Books. I'd love to have you "scrub in."

Find Related Products

Start A New Christianbook.com Search