Could I Have This Dance?, Claire McCall Series #1  -     By: Harry Kraus M.D.
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $5.88 eBook Details

Could I Have This Dance?, Claire McCall Series #1

Zondervan / 2002 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $14.99
|
Save 33% ($5.00)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW40898

Current Promotions

Product Description

The pressures of a medical internship. The mystery of a genetic disease. A malpractice suit. A shaky engagement. A threat on her life. Claire McCall has been fighting the odds all her life---but now secrets from the past could destroy her dreams of becoming a surgeon. Will her faith in God survive? Will she? 416 pages, softcover from Zondervan.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2002
ISBN: 0310240891
ISBN-13: 9780310240891
UPC: 025986240899
Availability: In Stock
Series: Claire McCall

Related Products

  1. Claire McCall Series, Vols 1-2
    Claire McCall Series, Vols 1-2
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Zondervan / Trade Paperback
    $17.99 Retail: $25.98 Save 31% ($7.99)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW49888
  2. All I'll Ever Need, Claire McCall Series #3
    All I'll Ever Need, Claire McCall Series #3
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Zondervan / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW272831
  3. Stainless Steal Hearts
    Stainless Steal Hearts
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Good News Publishers / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW49207
  4. To Know You
    To Know You
    Shannon Ethridge, Kathryn Mackel
    Thomas Nelson / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 16 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW688660

Publisher's Description

You can’t dance this dance unless it’s in your blood. Claire McCall is praying it’s not in hers. Claire McCall is used to fighting back against the odds. Hard work, aptitude, and sheer determination have helped her rise from adverse circumstances to an internship in one of the nation’s most competitive surgical residencies. But talent and tenacity mean nothing in the face of the discovery that is about to rock her world. It’s called the "Stoney Creek Curse" by folks in the small mountain town where Claire grew up. Behind the superstition lies a reality that could destroy her career. But getting to the truth is far from easy in a community with secrets to hide. As a web of relationships becomes increasingly tangled, two things become apparent. One is that more than one person doesn’t want Claire to probe too deeply into the "Stoney Creek Curse." The other is that someone has reasons other than the curse for wanting Claire out of the picture permanently. Somewhere in the course of pursuing her career as a surgeon, Claire lost touch with the God who called her to it. Now she realizes how desperately she needs him. But can she reclaim a faith strong enough to see her through this deadly dance of circumstances?

Author Bio

Harry Lee Kraus, MD, (www.cuttingedgefiction.com) is the bestselling author of ten books, including Could I Have This Dance? For the Rest of My Life, and All I’ll Ever Need. He draws from his career as a board-certified general surgeon to flavor his writing with exceptional authenticity and technical knowledge. He and his wife, Kris, are missionaries serving in East Africa.

Library Journal

Kraus (Lethal Mercy) draws on his extensive medical knowledge in his sixth novel. As Dr. Claire McCall enters the toughest residency program for surgeons in the country, her world begins to fall apart. Attracted to another resident just as her feelings for her fianc have turned ambivalent because she believes he pressured her into intimacy before marriage, Claire has also lost her closeness with God. To top things off, a patient admitted to the emergency room exhibits the same symptoms that Claire's father has had for years. The people in her hometown of Stoney Creek, VA, called it "The Curse" and attributed it to alcoholism. But this patient is diagnosed with Huntington's disease. As Claire tries to determine whether her father has Huntington's and whether she, in turn, has it, someone else has other reasons to shut Claire up permanently. A solid, intense thriller heavy on medical terminology, this is for fans of William Cutrer and Sandra Glahn's Deadly Cure. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Publisher's Weekly

Dr. Claire McCall is on a mission to discover the truth behind the Stoney Creek curse in Kraus's sixth book, a well-written medical thriller with romantic and inspirational overtones. Claire puts the backwards town of Stoney Creek, Va., and her "cursed" alcoholic father, Wally, behind her as she begins a grueling medical internship at Lafayette University Hospital near Boston. Yet as her father exhibits classic signs of Huntington's disease (or "the dance" in medical slang, from which the title is gleaned), Claire wonders whether the legendary curse might be due to genetics, rather than superstition or alcoholism. Fearing for her future, she turns up information that leads to puzzlement over her and her twin brother Clay's paternity. As her world crashes around her, Claire becomes confused about her faith and ponders how a loving God could orchestrate her disastrous circumstances. Claire is fallible and multidimensional, and the narrative palatably combines suspense, medical instruction, romance, humor and faith. However, like many recent CBA novels, this one is too long, and a little judicious editing might have smoothed the pacing in spots. Reader credibility will also be stretched when Claire shares a great deal of personal information with hunky intern Brett Daniels, or a little too conveniently keeps stumbling over her undergraduate genetics project, which holds clues to her present dilemma. However, Kraus's experience as a general surgeon lends authenticity to his medical descriptions, and the curveball conclusion makes the long read worthwhile. (Mar.) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Reviews

4.3 Stars Out Of 5
4.3 out of 5
(6)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(1)
Quality:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Value:
4 out Of 5
(4 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
3.5 out Of 5
(3.5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 8
Page 1 of 2 12 Next
  1. Casey
    Oregon
    3 Stars Out Of 5
    Could I Have This Dance?
    March 31, 2013
    Casey
    Oregon
    Quality: 3
    Value: 3
    Meets Expectations: 2
    The idea that put this novel together is the main reason I picked it up. To avoid a back cover recap, I'll just say: it was interesting. Working in a medical field as my work-a-day job, I was intrigued by this concept to let that world enter a bit of my fiction entertainment.

    Published in 2002, a reader can definitely see where Christian fiction has progressed and become a stronger force to be reckoned with. Much of the novel was a bit wordy for my taste, but Claire as a character, and her circumstances pushed the novel forward on a solid stride. I do admit to skimming the extraneous verbiage the deeper into the story I got, but still gleaned much in the way of these character's lives.

    This particular novel delves deeper into the terminology and the life of a surgeon intern. I could see readers getting lost in all the terms, but since I work in it, I was able to follow pretty well. Definitely a couple twists, including an excellent one at the end I didn't see coming. Worth reading to find that one!

    All in all, I can't say it's my favorite, but I've loved a more recent release by the same author, so will continue to read upcoming novels.

    This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
  2. Lucky 52
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Really loved the story
    August 3, 2012
    Lucky 52
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I work at a hospital and was really intrigued by this book. I have bought 3 copies so far to share with other workers and family. If this book got great attention in Hawaii it was probably because of me. Thanks. P.S. also bought For the Rest Of Your Life and Serenity and also shared this book with a personal friend of the author.
  3. Granny Smith
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    July 20, 2007
    Granny Smith
    I thought the book to be excellent and I believe many Christian women have experienced the need for comfort and need to think of the potential consequences of confiding in a man as a "friend" confidant. There were NO sexual acts included in this book, just situations that challenge the casual or naive way good women can make potentially devastating choices. We are to be "in the world but not of the world." There are also other soul searching topics woven masterfully into this well written plot.
  4. Candi
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    January 26, 2007
    Candi
    This series is awesome!! I first read Lethal Mercy and absolutely got hooked on this author!It is a MUST read. I have suggested it to several friends who loved it, too.
  5. Candi
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    January 26, 2007
    Candi
    This series is awesome!! I first read Lethal Mercy and absolutely got hooked on this author!It is a MUST read. I have suggested it to several friends who loved it, too.
Displaying items 1-5 of 8
Page 1 of 2 12 Next

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Lay It Down, DVD
    Lay It Down, DVD
    Kevin Downes Productions / DVD
    $11.99 Retail: $14.95 Save 20% ($2.96)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW517842
  2. Child of Mine
    Child of Mine
    David Lewis, Beverly Lewis
    Bethany House / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 34 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW212543
  3. Christy: A New Beginning, DVD
    Christy: A New Beginning, DVD
    Lionsgate Home Entertainment / 2007 / DVD
    $7.99 Retail: $9.99 Save 20% ($2.00)
    3.5 Stars Out Of 5 9 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW78486
  4. You Are Holy
    You Are Holy
    Joshua Aaron
    Galilee of the Nations / 2014 / Compact disc
    $11.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 14% ($2.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WWCD18568

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search