Could I Have This Dance?, Claire McCall Series #1  -     By: Harry Kraus M.D.
Buy Item $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $5.88 eBook Details

Could I Have This Dance?, Claire McCall Series #1

Zondervan / 2002 / Paperback

$9.99 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $14.99
|
Save 33% ($5.00)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW40898

Current Promotions

Product Description

The pressures of a medical internship. The mystery of a genetic disease. A malpractice suit. A shaky engagement. A threat on her life. Claire McCall has been fighting the odds all her life---but now secrets from the past could destroy her dreams of becoming a surgeon. Will her faith in God survive? Will she? 416 pages, softcover from Zondervan.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Vendor: Zondervan
Publication Date: 2002
ISBN: 0310240891
ISBN-13: 9780310240891
UPC: 025986240899
Availability: In Stock
Series: Claire McCall

Related Products

  1. Claire McCall Series, Vols 1-2
    Claire McCall Series, Vols 1-2
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Zondervan / Trade Paperback
    $17.99 Retail: $25.98 Save 31% ($7.99)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW49888
  2. All I'll Ever Need, Claire McCall Series #3
    All I'll Ever Need, Claire McCall Series #3
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Zondervan / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW272831
  3. Stainless Steal Hearts
    Stainless Steal Hearts
    Harry Kraus M.D.
    Good News Publishers / 2007 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW49207
  4. To Know You
    To Know You
    Shannon Ethridge, Kathryn Mackel
    Thomas Nelson / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 25% ($4.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 18 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW688660

Publisher's Description

Claire McCall is used to fighting back against the odds; after discovering her father has Huntington’s Disease, Claire is afraid to test herself and possibly lose her internship at the hospital. While Claire moves from trying to win God’s favor to a realization of his grace, her engagement dissolves, she fights a malpractice suit, and she finds someone wants her dead.

Author Bio

Harry Lee Kraus, MD, (www.cuttingedgefiction.com) is the bestselling author of ten books, including Could I Have This Dance? For the Rest of My Life, and All I’ll Ever Need. He draws from his career as a board-certified general surgeon to flavor his writing with exceptional authenticity and technical knowledge. He and his wife, Kris, are missionaries serving in East Africa.

Library Journal

Kraus (Lethal Mercy) draws on his extensive medical knowledge in his sixth novel. As Dr. Claire McCall enters the toughest residency program for surgeons in the country, her world begins to fall apart. Attracted to another resident just as her feelings for her fianc have turned ambivalent because she believes he pressured her into intimacy before marriage, Claire has also lost her closeness with God. To top things off, a patient admitted to the emergency room exhibits the same symptoms that Claire's father has had for years. The people in her hometown of Stoney Creek, VA, called it "The Curse" and attributed it to alcoholism. But this patient is diagnosed with Huntington's disease. As Claire tries to determine whether her father has Huntington's and whether she, in turn, has it, someone else has other reasons to shut Claire up permanently. A solid, intense thriller heavy on medical terminology, this is for fans of William Cutrer and Sandra Glahn's Deadly Cure. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Publisher's Weekly

Dr. Claire McCall is on a mission to discover the truth behind the Stoney Creek curse in Kraus's sixth book, a well-written medical thriller with romantic and inspirational overtones. Claire puts the backwards town of Stoney Creek, Va., and her "cursed" alcoholic father, Wally, behind her as she begins a grueling medical internship at Lafayette University Hospital near Boston. Yet as her father exhibits classic signs of Huntington's disease (or "the dance" in medical slang, from which the title is gleaned), Claire wonders whether the legendary curse might be due to genetics, rather than superstition or alcoholism. Fearing for her future, she turns up information that leads to puzzlement over her and her twin brother Clay's paternity. As her world crashes around her, Claire becomes confused about her faith and ponders how a loving God could orchestrate her disastrous circumstances. Claire is fallible and multidimensional, and the narrative palatably combines suspense, medical instruction, romance, humor and faith. However, like many recent CBA novels, this one is too long, and a little judicious editing might have smoothed the pacing in spots. Reader credibility will also be stretched when Claire shares a great deal of personal information with hunky intern Brett Daniels, or a little too conveniently keeps stumbling over her undergraduate genetics project, which holds clues to her present dilemma. However, Kraus's experience as a general surgeon lends authenticity to his medical descriptions, and the curveball conclusion makes the long read worthwhile. (Mar.) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Reviews

Product Q&A



Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The Amish Seamstress, Women of Lancaster County Series #4
    The Amish Seamstress, Women of Lancaster County Series #4
    Mindy Starns Clark, Leslie Gould
    Harvest House Publishers / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $10.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 21% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 11 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW926263
    Video
  2. A Heartbeat Away
    A Heartbeat Away
    Harry Kraus
    David C. Cook / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 16 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW702579
  3. The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
    The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
    Beverly Lewis
    Bethany House / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $15.99 Save 38% ($6.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 86 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW209772
    Video
  4. The Bridesmaid, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #2
    The Bridesmaid, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #2
    Beverly Lewis
    Bethany House / 2012 / Trade Paperback
    $9.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 33% ($5.00)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 34 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW209789
    Video

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Christianbook.com Search