My Only Comfort: Death, Deliverance, and Discipleship in the Music of Bach  -     By: Calvin R. Stapert
Buy Item $22.95 Retail: $25.50 Save 10% ($2.55) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

My Only Comfort: Death, Deliverance, and Discipleship in the Music of Bach

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. / 2000 / Paperback

$22.95 (CBD Price)
Retail: $25.50
Save 10% ($2.55)
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
CBD Stock No: WW44723

Current Promotions
Browse for Music
Refine by
Advanced Search Links
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Description

(PUBEerdmans)Bach was the pre-eminent composer of the Reformation. In case you've forgotten his deep theological and scriptural roots, Stapert quotes the texts and translates them, then skillfully interprets and illustrates how the music conveys their meaning. 232 pages, softcover.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 232
Vendor: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.
Publication Date: 2000
Dimensions: 9 X 6 (inches)
ISBN: 0802844723
ISBN-13: 9780802844729
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
Series: Calvin Institute of Christian Worship

Related Products

Publisher's Description

In the history of Western music, J. S. Bach is unsurpassed in mastery of technique and profundity of thought. He was also a devout Lutheran with a broad knowledge of Scripture and theology. Given Bach's combination of musical prowess, personal devotion, and theological depth, it is not surprising that his music stands unexcelled among artistic expressions of the Christian faith. With the passage of time, however, many of the essential keys to understanding Bach's music have been lost. My Only Comfort uniquely reconnects modern listeners with Bach's music, enabling them to listen to Bach with renewed understanding and appreciation. After an introduction to Bach, his theological knowledge, his musical language, and the various genres of sacred music in his output, Calvin Stapert leads readers through specific works by Bach that express, interpret, and vivify some of the principal doctrines of the Christian faith. For each work discussed, Stapert provides relevant quotations from the Heidelberg Catechism (a novel and provocative approach to the study of Bach), a literal translation of the text set beside the German original, and textual and musical commentary meant to contribute to a more perceptive and devotional listening to the work.

Product Reviews

Product Q&A

Other Customers Also Purchased


Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search