Christmas with the Holy Fathers  -     By: Peter Celano
Buy Item $16.16 Retail: $17.95 Save 10% ($1.79) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $7.96 eBook Details

Christmas with the Holy Fathers

Paraclete Press / 2008 / Hardcover

$16.16 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $17.95
|
Save 10% ($1.79)
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/17/15.
CBD Stock No: WW256034

Current Promotions
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.
  • Other Formats

    Description Price Availability Quantity AddInclude
    Hardcover $16.16 Expected to ship on or about 01/17/15. Add To Cart
    Add To Cart
    Add To Cart

Product Description

There is nothing more beautiful than the Christmas season as it is celebrated at St. Peter's Basilica and throughout Vatican City. The dark nights, glowing candles, incense and music infuse the season with the spirit of God. This book will help you mark the events of the season. Guided by the Holy Fathers, you will hear the meaning of Advent, honor the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, adore with the shepherds on Christmas Eve, experience the morning of the Nativity itself, listen to a call to holiness on Christmas Night, understand the mystery of suffering on St. Stephen's Day, crown the Virgin as the Mother of God, and with the Magi, worship the Christ Child. Hardcover.

Product Information

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 144
Vendor: Paraclete Press
Publication Date: 2008
Dimensions: 7.75 X 5.13 (inches)
ISBN: 1557256039
ISBN-13: 9781557256034
Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/17/15.

Related Products

  1. The Meaning is in the Waiting: The Spirit of Advent
    The Meaning is in the Waiting: The Spirit of Advent
    Paula Gooder
    Paraclete Press / 2009 / Trade Paperback
    $11.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 20% ($3.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW256621
  2. O Christmas Three: O. Henry, Tolstoy, and Dickens
    O Christmas Three: O. Henry, Tolstoy, and Dickens
    O. Henry, Leo Tolstoy, Charles Dickens
    Paraclete Press / 2010 / Hardcover
    $4.99 Retail: $16.99 Save 71% ($12.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW257760
  3. Our December Hearts: Meditations for Advent and Christmas
    Our December Hearts: Meditations for Advent and Christmas
    Anne McConney
    Church Publishing Inc. / 1999 / Trade Paperback
    $14.40 Retail: $16.00 Save 10% ($1.60)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/17/15.
    CBD Stock No: WW9217867
  4. Advent and Christmas Wisdom with Thomas Merton
    Advent and Christmas Wisdom with Thomas Merton
    Liguori Publications / Trade Paperback
    $10.79 Retail: $11.99 Save 10% ($1.20)
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW808432

Publisher's Description

Spend this Christmas in the good company of the Holy Fathers

“I am an old Christmas person and cannot imagine a more spiritual and impressive way than spending the Christmas season with the popes. This is a marvelous book to give anyone who has a real sense of the Church and of the significance of the teachings of the bishops of Rome. I highly recommend it.”

—Fr. Benedict J. Groeschel, C.F.R.
Author & TV host on EWTN

There is nothing more beautiful than the Christmas season as it is celebrated at St. Peter’s Basilica and throughout Vatican City. The dark nights, glowing candles, incense and music infuse the season with the spirit of God. This book will help you mark the events of the season. Guided by the Holy Fathers, you will hear the meaning of Advent, honor the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, adore with the shepherds on Christmas Eve, experience the morning of the Nativity itself, listen to a call to holiness on Christmas Night, understand the mystery of suffering on St. Stephen’s Day, crown the Virgin as the Mother of God, and with the Magi, worship the Christ Child.

“The yearly return of Advent offers to us a sequence of days in which we may turn our thoughts to a particularly rich series of events touching on the drama of our Redemption. Each event discloses a mystery, since in each case we find that what is played out on the stage of our own history reaches through the scrim that veils eternity from time, and presents to us mortals, in effect, the Love of God at work. The whole season bids us reflect on the coming of God’s Love to us in the person of His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ our Lord….”

—Thomas Howard, from the Foreword

Author Bio

Peter Celano is a writer and editor at Paraclete Press in Massachusetts.

Thomas Howard is one of the most popular and eloquent Catholic authors today, writing in the tradition of C.S.Lewis. Formerly and English professor at Gordon college, Dr. Howard was raised in a prominent evangelical Christian family. In 1985 at the age of  50, he was received into the Catholic Church after what he calls a "20 year pilgrimage." Howard is the author of many books including Lead, Kindly Light: My Journey to Rome, On Being Catholic, and most recently, The Night Is Far Spent: A Treasury of Thomas Howard.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Availability

Availability: Expected to ship on or about 01/17/15. You may order this item now and we will ship it to you when it arrives. If you are charging this purchase to a credit card, you will not be charged for this item and its portion of your shipping charges until it is shipped.

Send Me Email  Email me when this product is available.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search