Christmas in Plains: Memories  -     By: Jimmy Carter
Buy Item $9.00 Retail: $10.00 Save 10% ($1.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $7.99 eBook Details

Christmas in Plains: Memories

Simon & Schuster / 2004 / Paperback

$9.00 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $10.00
|
Save 10% ($1.00)
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
CBD Stock No: WW227158

Current Promotions
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Description

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood -- the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father's eggnog, the children's house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke's story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors' poverty. Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together re-creating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth. Nowadays the Carters' large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them. In this charming book Jimmy Carter re-creates the simplicity of community and celebration with family and friends.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 160
Vendor: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2004
Dimensions: 7 X 5 (inches)
ISBN: 0743227158
ISBN-13: 9780743227155
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Publisher's Description

In this acclaimed bestseller, President Carter returns to his early years in Plains, Georgia, the same locale that enchanted readers of An Hour Before Daylight, which The New Yorker called "an American classic." He remembers the Christmas days of his boyhood and later years, re-creating here the simplicity of community and celebration with family and friends.
Jimmy Carter has written another American classic in the tradition of Truman Capote's A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales.

Author Bio

Jimmy Carter was the thirty-ninth President of the United States, serving from 1977 to 1981. In 1982, he and his wife founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of people around the world. Carter was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002. He is the author of over two-dozen books, including A Full Life; An Hour Before Daylight; Palestine: Peace Not Apartheid; and Our Endangered Values. He lives in Plains, Georgia.

Editorial Reviews

St. Petersburg Times Like Carter's earlier memoir, Christmas in Plains is straightforward, tied to family, land, and home. It is a treasure.
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution A charming account of an era when family rituals and fellowship meant more than expensive gifts.
The Philadelphia Inquirer This is a memoir that is down-to-earth, evocative, thoughtful, and, of course, fascinating on several levels. And in the end, the man telling the story becomes so much more than an author, narrator, and statesman. It isn't Mr. Carter. It isn't Mr. President. It's Jimmy.
Chicago Sun-Times Christmas in Plains is a gift from the heart, the most eloquent kind.
The Washington Post A lovely and haunting piece of work.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Availability

Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search