Christmas in Plains: Memories  -     By: Jimmy Carter
Buy Item InStock9.00$9.00 Retail: $10.00 Save 10% ($1.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $7.99 eBook Details

Christmas in Plains: Memories

Simon & Schuster / 2004 / Paperback

$9.00 (CBD Price)
|
Retail: $10.00
|
Save 10% ($1.00)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW227158

SPRING-CYBER-WEEK
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.
  • Other Formats (2)
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Other Formats (2)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include
  1. In Stock
    $7.99
    Add To Cart
    0
    $7.99
  2. In Stock
    $9.00
    Retail: $10.00
    Add To Cart
    $9.00
Others Also Purchased (15)

Product Description

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood -- the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father's eggnog, the children's house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke's story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors' poverty. Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together re-creating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth. Nowadays the Carters' large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them. In this charming book Jimmy Carter re-creates the simplicity of community and celebration with family and friends.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 160
Vendor: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2004
Dimensions: 7 X 5 (inches)
ISBN: 0743227158
ISBN-13: 9780743227155
Availability: In Stock

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Christmas in Plains: Memories - eBookeBOOK
    Christmas in Plains: Memories - eBook
    Jimmy Carter
    Simon & Schuster / 2001 / ePub
    $7.99
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW9175EB
  2. Out of the Depths - Slightly Imperfect
    Out of the Depths - Slightly Imperfect
    John Newton
    Kregel Publications / 2003 / Trade Paperback
    $7.99 Retail: $13.99 Save 43% ($6.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW33190DA
  3. Esther O'Gallagher's Lawrence Ashley Memories
    Esther O'Gallagher's Lawrence Ashley Memories
    Esther O'Gallagher
    WestBow Press / 2016 / Trade Paperback
    $18.01
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW72281X
  4. Paul the Apostle  - Slightly Imperfect
    Paul the Apostle - Slightly Imperfect
    Robert E. Picirilli
    Moody Publishers / 1986 / Trade Paperback
    $6.79 Retail: $14.99 Save 55% ($8.20)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW2463258DA

Related Products

  1. Cave Quest VBS 2016: Sing & Play Rock Music CD
    Cave Quest VBS 2016: Sing & Play Rock Music CD
    Group Publishing / 2015 / Compact disc
    $6.29 Retail: $6.99 Save 10% ($0.70)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW733504
  2. KJV Personal Reference Bible, Giant Print, Imit. Leather/BlackSALE
    KJV Personal Reference Bible, Giant Print, Imit. Leather/Black
    Hendrickson Publishers / Imitation Leather
    $6.99 Retail: $19.95 Save 65% ($12.96)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 413 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW560956
  3. Cave Quest VBS 2016: Geode Gems, pack of 10
    Cave Quest VBS 2016: Geode Gems, pack of 10
    Group Publishing / 2016 / Other
    $8.09 Retail: $8.99 Save 10% ($0.90)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW734561
  4. The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His NameSALE
    The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name
    Sally Lloyd-Jones
    ZonderKidz / 2006 / Hardcover
    $6.99 Retail: $17.99 Save 61% ($11.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 263 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW708257

Publisher's Description

Jimmy Carter remembers Christmas in Plains, Georgia, the source of spiritual strength, respite, friendship, and vacation fun in this charming portrait.

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood—the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father’s eggnog, the children’s house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke’s story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors’ poverty.

Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together recreating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth.

Since the Carters returned home to Plains for good, they have always been there on Christmas Day, with only one exception in forty-eight years: In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David, where they felt lonely. Amy suggested that they invite the White House staff and their families to join them and to celebrate.

Nowadays the Carters’ large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them.

With the novelist’s eye that enchanted readers of his memoir An Hour Before Daylight, Jimmy Carter has written another American classic, in the tradition of Truman Capote’s A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas’s A Child’s Christmas in Wales.

Author Bio

Jimmy Carter was the thirty-ninth President of the United States, serving from 1977 to 1981. In 1982, he and his wife founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of people around the world. Carter was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002. He is the author of two-dozen books, including A Full Life; An Hour Before Daylight; Palestine: Peace Not Apartheid and Our Endangered Values. He lives in Plains, Georgia.

Editorial Reviews

St. Petersburg Times Like Carter's earlier memoir, Christmas in Plains is straightforward, tied to family, land, and home. It is a treasure.
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution A charming account of an era when family rituals and fellowship meant more than expensive gifts.
The Philadelphia Inquirer This is a memoir that is down-to-earth, evocative, thoughtful, and, of course, fascinating on several levels. And in the end, the man telling the story becomes so much more than an author, narrator, and statesman. It isn't Mr. Carter. It isn't Mr. President. It's Jimmy.
Chicago Sun-Times Christmas in Plains is a gift from the heart, the most eloquent kind.
The Washington Post A lovely and haunting piece of work.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search