Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Chasing Sunsets, Cedar Key Series #1
    Chasing Sunsets, Cedar Key Series #1
    Eva Marie Everson
    Revell / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $12.49 Retail: $15.00 Save 17% ($2.51)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 18 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW734367
4.5 Stars Out Of 5
4.5 out of 5
(14)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Value:
4.5 out Of 5
(4.5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
4.3 out Of 5
(4.3 out of 5)
95%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 11-15 of 21
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next
  1. amomwithablog
    Las Vegas, NV
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Fun summer romance.
    June 15, 2011
    amomwithablog
    Las Vegas, NV
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Wednesday, June 15, 2011

    Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson

    Ok. Do you want the perfect summer read? This is it!

    Chasing Sunsets is the story of Kimberly Tucker. Kim is a newly divorced woman who can't seem to let go of the past and move forward with her life. Until... her father suggests she return to her childhood vacation home to 'take care of the house'. It seems the perfect opportunity to get her mind off things while her boys are with their father for part of the summer. Planning to stay only a few days to get things in order, Kimberly goes to work to find the help that is needed. While she's there, her plans slowly begin to change. She meets with her closet childhood friend, Rosa, only to find she is not the same girl she remembers. Her new neighbor Patsy brings much insight into her life and then of all the unexpected... she is reunited with her first love, Steven Granger.

    The story takes place in a tiny beach town called "Cedar Key", and all I have to say is... now I want to live there! The scene is painted so clearly it feels as if you are right there with the characters, which by the way, are all so lovable. I can see the birds fly by, feels the ocean breeze, the humidity... even see the sunrise and sunset which are in great detail. Did I say I wish I was there? Yep. I can dream.

    Turns out that Cedar Key is an actual place that the author visited for this book. She even says that some of the places mentioned in the book are actual businesses in Cedar Key. There really is a Dilly Dally Gally, a Cook's Cafe, Cedar Key Market, a Kona Joe's and others. How wonderful it would be to see these actual places. You want to go now too, don't you? If not now... you will after reading this book.

    I highly recommend this book for your summer reading list. It's a great story with characters you can't help but like. It's very relaxing with the beautiful setting. Just a fun, easy read. I can't wait for the next in the series of the Cedar Key Novels. This is one series I will be sure to follow. Thanks Eva Marie Everson... I loved it!

    *Revell Books and Baker Publishing Group have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. ~ Thanks!
  2. BaronBookReview
    Gilbert, AZ
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    June 14, 2011
    BaronBookReview
    Gilbert, AZ
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 4
    Meets Expectations: 5
    CHASING SUNSETS by Eva Marie Everson is the first book I've read by this author and I think I've found a new favorite author to follow!

    This is a book of hope, forgiveness, introspection and love. I love the fact that the main character decided to take a trip to Cedar Key by herself to do a little relaxing. For the first time since college, she's alone for 5 weeks in the summer. She seemed to be at loose ends until she meets her neighbor and "wise woman", Patsy. This time alone gives Kimberly the opportunity to examine her life, her ended marriage, her family's "hidden" issues and what she wants to do in the future. As in real life, it's a difficult road to take.

    I love that the characters in the book are developed - it's like you actually know them. When an author can pull that off, I'd say the book will be a success. You want to take sides in the character plots but Ms. Everson brings out both the good & the not-so-good qualities of everyone. No single character is black or white---just like in real life---but they have awesome traits and everyday flaws. Personally I like that in my reading.

    Chasing Sunsets is a fabulous summer read---by the pool, in a chaise lounge, or even on the patio. Bring out a fruity drink & you have the makings of a relaxing time just for you. I'm giving this a 5 star rating and look forward to the next book in the series!

    Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
  3. Abbie
    Texas
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    wonderful
    June 13, 2011
    Abbie
    Texas
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    evastated by a divorce, Kimberly Tucker is searching for answers. How could a marriage that seemed to be so perfect have fallen apart? What had she done to cause her husband to turn to some one else? Kimberly had been a people-pleaser and problem fixer since she was a child. She depended on others approval of her and was determined to fix all things around her.

    Will a trip to the family vacation home at Cedar Key force Kimberly to come face to face with truths that she had buried deep in her heart?

    This book starts out in the court room as Kimberly and Charlie Tucker are meeting before the General Magistrate to determine the summer arrangements for their two boys Cody and Chase. There Kimberly is told that the boys would be with their father for 5 weeks of the summer. Absolutely devastated at this announcement Kimberly is left feeling as if her heart is shattered. To distract her from the heartbreak her father sends her on a job to the family vacation retreat - a place she had not returned to since her mother's death.

    In this place Kimberly is forced to look at the past and face the ugly secrets of life that were locked up there. She must decide if she will allow God to rekindle and old flame and redeem the things she thought were lost. But this will mean that Kimberly must also admit some truths about herself and her family that will forever change her - and will set her free.

    I could not put this novel down. The author has carefully developed each character in such a way that the reader feels as if they know them personally. I enjoyed the fact that there were chapters that were flashback style - so that the reader could gain more knowledge about the past of each character so that the current choices, actions and feelings make more since.

    I could not put this book down. I can't wait for the second book!! I will be anxiously awaiting it's print date to see how this story unfolds more - to see what happens to the others in this book.

    Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

    Thank you Revel publishing for this free review copy.
  4. Jolene
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Perfect for Summer!
    June 13, 2011
    Jolene
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 4
    Kimberly Claybourne Tucker didn't want to be swept away by the magic of Cedar Key, Florida. A painful divorce and the responsibility of rearing two sons leaves Kimberly stressed and without the answers as to why things happen. When a judge orders her sons to spend five weeks with their father, Kimberly's father pushes her to visit Cedar Key, a place she has avoided for years because of the bittersweet memories. Her goal is to visit the area as quickly as possible and return. However, a chance meeting with Steven Granger, her first love, disrupts her plans. As she spends time in Cedar Key, she discovers the need for faith, the shadows of the past, and that sometimes there are second chances.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Chasing Sunsets by Eva Marie Everson. I live on the Gulf Coast of Florida so I easily identified with the atmosphere and vivid imagery. The intricate stories of the characters drew me back to this book until I finished it. There's no doubt that Everson is a talented author, but I wish there was more closure to the plot. The book is well-over three hundred pages, yet the story is incomplete when the book ends. Thank goodness there is a sequel planned. The first chapter of it is in the back to the book.

    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fiction with a mixture of romance, sisterhood, and life issues.

    Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller, from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
  5. KavR
    Canada
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    June 13, 2011
    KavR
    Canada
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    A beautiful read that goes layers deep to draw emotion to the surface. I felt it all; sorrow, despair, anguish, fury, desperation, fear...all of which were tempered with flashes of hope and understanding and, of course, love.

    Kimberly's journey into the past brings her full circle into the present. The path she walks isn't an easy one and Everson pulls her readers in with a staggering emotionally-charged opening chapter that had me hooked. I ached for Kim -- I ached for me aching for Kim as I compulsively devoured her story.

    Everson plays with point of view in an unusual way. While this is primarily Kim's story (told in first person), it is riddled with flashbacks from multiple perspectives. Some are Kim's, some other characters'. This makes for a dynamic and intriguing read and while, Kim's story has an ending...and not the pure happily-ever you'll find in fairy tales...there are many unanswered questions which I hope will be answered in a sequel some day.

    With characters that are rich and compelling and a setting perfect for a sultry, summer read, Chasing Sunsets will make a great addition to anyone's vacation TBR pile.

    "Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
Displaying items 11-15 of 21
Page 3 of 5 Previous 12345 Next