Biblical Faith   -     By: Gerd Theissen
Buy Item InStock21.38$21.38 Add To Cart


Add To Wishlist

Biblical Faith

Augsburg Fortress / 1985 / Paperback

$21.38 (CBD Price)
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW18424

FLASH-SALE
* This product is available for shipment only to the USA.
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.
  • Others Also Purchased (15)
Others Also Purchased (15)
Description
Availability
Price
Add
Include

Product Description

Scientific criticisms of Christianity---whether literary, social, or psychological---usually stop short before reaching the heart of the matter. Determined not to do this, Thiessen examines Christian belief through the lens of evolutionary theory. His new understanding of faith is fresh and still very plausible to scientific minds. 194 pages, paper from Fortress.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 210
Vendor: Augsburg Fortress
Publication Date: 1985
Dimensions: 5 1/4 X 8 1/4 (inches)
ISBN: 0800618424
ISBN-13: 9780800618421
Availability: In Stock

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. The Historical Jesus: A Comprehensive Guide
    The Historical Jesus: A Comprehensive Guide
    Gerd Theissen
    Augsburg Fortress / 1998 / Trade Paperback
    $52.25
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW06312
  2. Origins: Linking Science and Scripture
    Origins: Linking Science and Scripture
    Ariel Roth
    Review & Herald Publishing / 1998 / Hardcover
    $26.99 Retail: $29.99 Save 10% ($3.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW013284
  3. Descent Of Man
    Descent Of Man
    Charles Darwin
    Penguin Classics / Trade Paperback
    $18.00 Retail: $20.00 Save 10% ($2.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW36310
  4. Dealing with Dawkins
    Dealing with Dawkins
    John Blanchard
    Evangelical Press / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $4.49
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW347157

Related Products

  1. Theism, Atheism, and Big Bang Cosmology
    Theism, Atheism, and Big Bang Cosmology
    William Lane Craig, Quentin Smith
    Oxford University Press / 1995 / Trade Paperback
    $81.25
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW263838
  2. Peril in Paradise: Theology, Science, and the Age of the Earth
    Peril in Paradise: Theology, Science, and the Age of the Earth
    Mark S. Whorton
    Biblica / 2005 / Trade Paperback
    $18.00 Retail: $20.00 Save 10% ($2.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW857340
  3. The Language of Science and Faith: Straight Answers to Genuine Questions
    The Language of Science and Faith: Straight Answers to Genuine Questions
    Karl W. Giberson, Francis S. Collins
    InterVarsity Press / 2011 / Hardcover
    $15.99 Retail: $22.00 Save 27% ($6.01)
    1 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW838295
  4. Making Sense of Evolution: Darwin, God, and the Drama of Life
    Making Sense of Evolution: Darwin, God, and the Drama of Life
    John Haught
    Westminster John Knox Press / 2010 / Trade Paperback
    $19.80 Retail: $22.00 Save 10% ($2.20)
    4 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW232856

Publisher's Description

In the tradition of Karl Rahner and Teilhard de Chardin, this book from renowned New Testament scholar Gerd Theissen daringly probes the innermost sanctuaries of the biblical tradition through the lens of evolutionary theory. Without associating evolution with a na?ve optimism about progress, Theissen shows how a thorough examination of the "cultural evolution" of the Christian faith can yield glimmers of a possible goal of history: "complete adaptation to the reality of God."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search