Biblical Faith   -     By: Gerd Theissen
Buy Item $21.38 Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist

Biblical Faith

Augsburg Fortress / 1985 / Paperback

$21.38 (CBD Price)
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
CBD Stock No: WW18424

Current Promotions
* This product is not available for expedited shipping.

Product Description

Scientific criticisms of Christianity---whether literary, social, or psychological---usually stop short before reaching the heart of the matter. Determined not to do this, Thiessen examines Christian belief through the lens of evolutionary theory. His new understanding of faith is fresh and still very plausible to scientific minds. 194 pages, paper from Fortress.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 210
Vendor: Augsburg Fortress
Publication Date: 1985
Dimensions: 5 1/4 X 8 1/4 (inches)
ISBN: 0800618424
ISBN-13: 9780800618421
Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Publisher's Description

In the tradition of Karl Rahner and Teilhard de Chardin, this book from renowned New Testament scholar Gerd Theissen daringly probes the innermost sanctuaries of the biblical tradition through the lens of evolutionary theory. Without associating evolution with a na?ve optimism about progress, Theissen shows how a thorough examination of the "cultural evolution" of the Christian faith can yield glimmers of a possible goal of history: "complete adaptation to the reality of God."

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook

Back
×

Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Availability

Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search