Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. Angel Falls
    Angel Falls
    Connie Mann
    Abingdon Press / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $7.49 Retail: $14.99 Save 50% ($7.50)
    4.5 Stars Out Of 5 6 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW756863
4.7 Stars Out Of 5
4.7 out of 5
(4)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Value:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 1-5 of 6
Page 1 of 2 12 Next
  1. Michelle Sutton
    Arizona
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    Fantastic story!
    July 28, 2013
    Michelle Sutton
    Arizona
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Now this was a sensational story. I didn't know if I'd like it at first, but I thought I'd give it a try. I've not read many books set in Brazil, but wow, this was a good one. There were so many double crosses, secrets, red herrings, and conflicts, there was never a dull moment. But the best part was the healing that took place in both of their hearts.

    So yes, there was action and suspense for people who love car chases and guns going off. Plenty of vivid details there. The way that the hero fought his emotion and at the same time wanted to see the heroine heal emotionally, well, it was very touching. And the way the heroine resisted love because of her past and fought the good emotion she felt around the hero made my heart flutter.

    I even got teary-eyed a few times as I experienced the emotional conflict with her. There is just something beautiful about watching a woman who was hurt and abused her entire childhood (and resigned to being treated like trash) awakening to the idea that she can be loved. Sigh. Beautiful stuff. It reminded me a bit of Redeeming Love in that respect. I highly recommend this book. Oh, and the ending was perfect. Wow.
  2. GingerS219
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    great suspense
    June 24, 2013
    GingerS219
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I loved Angel Falls by Connie Mann. It was chock full of suspenseful moments, had good timing, and had just the right amount of guy/girl tension to keep this romance lover happy.

    ***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
  3. Robin
    Edmond, OK
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Connie Mann delivers a great debut novel
    May 15, 2013
    Robin
    Edmond, OK
    Age: 35-44
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Connie Mann delivers a great book in Angels Falls, with an interesting story, deeply-layered characters, and a unique setting so unlike the tame American places I'm used to. There's nothing tame about Brazil, not its wild jungles nor its city streets teeming with needy, abused children, one of whom was our heroine, Regina. What would have become of her if not for the flawed, caring missionary who rescued her? Today, she runs an orphanage, rescuing other children from the streets until a car bomb kills her best friend, leaving her with a newborn baby somebody wants dead.

    Army Ranger Nathaniel Brooks is emotionally wounded after leading a failed mission in which some of his men were killed, along with the hostages he'd been sent to rescue. When he's asked to help Regina and the baby, he agrees. But if he fails again, what will become of this beautiful woman and innocent child?

    Mann has so beautifully illustrated Regina's fear of men--a holdover from her terrible past--and Brooks's caring gestures that help her learn to trust again. This book is both a page turner and a tearjerker. You'll be thinking of the characters long after you put it down.

    Full disclosure: I was asked to review this book, and I'm so glad I agreed.
  4. VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A Run For Survival, Suspense, Danger and Romance
    April 4, 2013
    VicsMediaRoom
    Irvine, CA
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: male
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Connie Mann in her new book, "Angel Falls" published by Abingdon Press takes us into the lives of Regina da Silva and Brooks Anderson.

    From the back cover: Two lives Collide in a deadly race to save an orphaned baby

    Regina da Silva and Brooks Anderson have been so broken by their violent pasts that they believe romantic love to be an illusion. Instead, they focus on helping others: Regina reaches out to street kids while Brooks uses his military knowledge to organize rescue operations.

    Their paths cross in Brazil when they are forced to work together to protect the orphaned baby of a dear friend. On the run and seeking safety in unexpected places, they soon realize that a killer is desperate to destroy not just the child but Brooks and Regina as well.

    As the danger heightens around them, so does their attraction. Will their pasts stop them from realizing their true feelings for each other when their pursuer strives to keep them apart forever?

    I have never read any story that dealt with the streets and alleys of Southern Brazil. Somehow the image that appears in my mind is that of the lush Amazon rain forest and beautiful cities. Regina is working the orphanage and trying to help the street kids when her friend is killed leaving behind the baby. Brooks is sent to Brazil to bring the baby back but the killer just wasn't after the mother the baby was also the intended victim. Now both Brooks and Regina are the killer's targets as they try to protect his baby as they run for their survival. Now this is pure excitement with a capital "E". Suspense, adventure, mystery, action all in a clever thriller. Both Brooks and Regina's lives are in deadly danger as they try to protect each other and the life of this baby. What makes a baby such a threat that he needs to be killed? That is just one of the questions that needs to be solved before this book ends. Then Ms. Mann has added in the romance. The themes of forgiveness, healing, redemption and trust play out marvelously in the hands of Ms. Mann. "Angel Falls" is a run for survival and the suspense will keep you flipping pages. Get all your chores out of the way before you sit down to read this book. You will want your cup of tea and peace and quiet as you spend the time on the run for survival in Southern Brazil. You will be glad you did. I am already looking forward to more from this talented author.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Pump Up Your Book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
  5. My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    A MUST READ SUSPENSE!
    April 3, 2013
    My Book Addiction
    North Carolina
    Age: 55-65
    Gender: female
    ANGEL FALLS by Connie Mann is an exciting inspirational suspense set in present day Southern Brazil. What a story! Filled with heart pounding action,faith,suspense,danger,romance,a rescue mission,forgiveness,redemption, struggles,love and the need for survival. Follow, Regina da Silva and Brooks Anderson as they attempt to save their friends orphan baby. A deadly race for survival! For a fast paced,action packed story you don't want to miss "Angel Falls". Ms. Mann will pull you into the story and hold you there. Her characters are intriguing,flawed,realistic and her plot is to die for filled with suspense and mystery. Well done,Ms. Mann, keep them coming. For readers who enjoy Irene Hannon, Diane Burke, Debbie Macomber or Lynette Eason, you will enjoy "Angel Falls". A soul gripping,heart thumping story from beginning to the very last page. An author to watch for in the future. What an exciting debut for this author. What an adventure and one you do not want to miss. I would highly recommend "Angel Falls" to any reader who enjoys not only Christian titles,but anyone who enjoys suspense,thrillers,mystery,and romance. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews/My Book Addiction and More
Displaying items 1-5 of 6
Page 1 of 2 12 Next