Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2Fair Is the Rose, Lowlands of Scotland Series #2
Liz Curtis Higgs
Retail Price: $15.99
CBD Price: $11.99
( In Stock )
Add To Cart
Following up her bestseller Thorn in My Heart, Higgs takes you back to the 18th-century Scottish Lowlands, where gentle Leana and her bonny sister Rose vie for the love of Jamie McKie. Who will win? This unforgettable story of entwined lives, passion, faithfulness, heartache, and redemption parallels the biblical accounts of Jacob, Esau, Rachel, and Leah. 496 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.

Back To Detail Page

Liz Curtis Higgs has presented more than 1,500 encouraging programs for audiences all over the world. A member of Novelists, Inc., Liz's primary writing focus now is historical fiction, in particular novels set in eighteenth-century Scotland. To aid in her research, she has visited the U.K. on eight occasions, with an extensive "Heart for Scotland" 12-city book tour in October 2003. She is a member of the Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies Society and supports the National Museums of Scotland, Historic Scotland, and the National Trust for Scotland.Liz is the author of twenty-one books, with over two million in print. Her fiction includes two historical novels and two contemporary novels.

On the personal side, Liz earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Bellarmine College, and is married to Bill Higgs, Ph.D., who serves as Director of Operations for her speaking and writing office. Liz and Bill share their 19th -century farmhouse in Louisville with their two teenagers, Matthew and Lillian, and too many cats.

How long did Fair Is the Rose take to complete?

It took six years of research and one year to write the book. It takes about one year to write each of these books.

Fair Is the Rose is based on the 1st half of Genesis 30- 1-16. I had a real sticky wicket. There was no way I was going to parallel with the scripture, because Jamie would have had to have slept with many women and had children with all of them. So I recreated as best I could, the emotional and spiritual struggle of that situation. In the scripture we get the facts, the figures, names, and what happened, but we don’t get the subtext. What were these women thinking and feeling as they shared one man. The human condition has not changed in four thousand years. I cannot believe this was easy for these women and life was simple for Jamie. God never said go forth and have lots of wives, He said go forth and multiply. In 18th century Scotland, I wanted to get the emotional and spiritual connection for this story.

What writers influenced you the most?

C.S.Lewis wrote powerful fiction. Walter Wangerin is an amazing man. Francine Rivers- She is a dear friend who encouraged me and challenged me to go deep within my own heart and write about the tough stuff. Jack Cavanaugh- he uses incredible historical details. He set a benchmark for me. Both Jack and Francine Rivers were incredibly encouraging. They are great role models both personally and professionally.

What were your favorite books as a child?

I was hungry to grow, learn and process facts. We took many trips, so I was exposed to much history.
“A Wrinkle in Time,” by Madeline L’Engle. It’s a powerful allegory. “Sense and Sensibility,” by Jane Austen

What is your favorite Bible verse?

Psalms 16:11 - You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.


The first twenty seven years of my life were spent looking for pleasures of the flesh and things. None gave long lasting pleasure. Passion in the most positive sense is in the presence of God. God will get me to joy, not things.

How much research was involved in the book Fair Is the Rose?

I have a passion for Scotland, and have always been drawn to the country. Since 1996 I’ve had the setting for the novels, and have over 630 reference books, many of which are antiquated. It took 6 years to fully understand the characterization, language and history of Scotland.

There was extensive research involved for this book, because it had to be believable. The details had to be exact. I had tremendous help from several people. For example, the map illustration was drawn by Benny Giles, a mapmaker who owns a Scottish book shop where I purchase most of my books on Scotland. He also was one of the early readers for the manuscript. He made sure the syntax and settings were historically accurate. For example, in Scotland, the words “ice storm” are not used, just “snow”.

Do you prefer to write fiction or non fiction?

I don’t have a definitive answer. God has put me into a fiction mode. Ten years ago, I looked for material on a platform. Five years ago I was looking for teaching moments. Then I discovered Christian fiction is every bit as life changing. Now, I have no plans or calling with non-fiction.

What message would you like your readers to take away from this book?

It’s about truth and consequences. We get to the true definition of truth. I wonder how much truth do we have to tell; a question we face everyday; confessing truth, facing the consequences of their choices. I cried through the last third of the book. Have tissues close. It is painful to watch people you care about make poor choices.

How many books will be in the series?

There are 4 books in this series.

What is your next book?

Whence Came a Prince is due to be released in March 2005.. This is Jamie’s story. The boy is finally going to grow up, just as Jacob finally gets to gether and stands up against Laban, (Lochlin in my story )stands up against Lochlin he has to face his brother, father.

The fourth book is a prequel: None But the Brave to be released in Mar 2006. It is based on Isaac and Rebecca (Alec and Rowena) in the book of Genesis 22, 23 and 24 during the Jacobian rebellion in 1745.

 More Titles by Liz Curtis Higgs

Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1

Return to Fiction Home Page