Current Promotions  

Product Reviews View Product Info

  1. King, Books of the Infinite Series #3
    King, Books of the Infinite Series #3
    R.J. Larson
    Bethany House / 2013 / Trade Paperback
    $2.99 Retail: $14.99 Save 80% ($12.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 8 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW209734
4.9 Stars Out Of 5
4.9 out of 5
(7)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Quality:
4.9 out Of 5
(4.9 out of 5)
Value:
4.8 out Of 5
(4.8 out of 5)
Meets Expectations:
5 out Of 5
(5 out of 5)
100%
of customers would recommend this product to a friend.
SORT BY:
SEE:
Displaying items 6-8 of 8
Page 2 of 2 Previous 12
  1. Washington State
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    4 Stars Out Of 5
    Great Conclusion
    July 23, 2013
    tmichaels
    Washington State
    Age: 25-34
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    I read the first two books in this series and really enjoyed them but I was a little nervous about reading this one because the preview chapter sounded like this third book might end up being a love triangle and I thoroughly dislike love triangles. Thankfully it is not. 

    I think the thing that struck me most about this whole series is the complete trust and devotion the characters have to God. Ela follows God and speaks for Him no matter what. She stands firm regardless of the horrors she sees coming in her visions and puts God's will ahead of her own desires and her love for her family. I really liked that the author allowed Ela to have some of her dreams as well as following God's will. I also really enjoyed the strong friendship between Kien and Akabe and the way that Akabe immediately backs down from his pursuit of Ela when he hears that Kien is the one Ela cares for. Akabe then makes an impulsive decision that seems the right thing to do, but he doesn't make sure that is the Infinite's plan and he has to deal with the consequences of his choices. I noticed that some reviewers expressed dislike for Caitria, Akabe's queen, but I rather liked her. She struggles with the difference between her abusive family (and their Atean worship)and her new feelings for Akabe, a man with beliefs her family despises. She doesn't always make the best choices, but I think that's an accurate portrayal of real life. I was happy with the way the book ended and thought it was a very nice conclusion to the series.

    I received this book free from Bethany House to review. The content of the review is entirely my own.
  2. Indiana
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    July 15, 2013
    lcjohnson1988
    Indiana
    Age: 45-54
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    King is the third and final installment in the Books of the Infinite series by R. J. Larson. Readers see the close relationship between the Infinite and His Prophet, Ela, deepen as well as with His Judge, Kien. These are the focus of the first two books in the series, respectively. I'm looking forward to more novels from this author, and I encourage you to read this series. You won't regret it.

    The Prophet, Ela, is now married to Kien Lantec. Kien has been exiled from his homeland and has been made a citizen and lord in Siphra by King Akabe. Ela is still a target for assassination by the Ateans as she is the Infinite's servant. They think the Infinite is not real. She receives revelations of the future from him as well as power. She is completely dedicated to him. She serves King Akabe on an earthly level. Ela and Kien are summoned from their new land and holdings by the King. They travel back to the capital of Siphra and learn of three different assassination attempts on the King by Ateans related to his new queen. It is decided that the King, Ela, Kien and his new wife along with some guards will leave the capital until the assassins are captured and security improved.

    King Akabe thinks he must marry to obtain a certain piece of land to rebuild the Infinite's temple. He must marry an Atean and she is definitely not a believer in the Infinite, but how dedicated is she to her goddess? She is young and alone in Siphra and has been treated badly by her family. Can she open her heart to her new husband and The One he worships? The King foils the assassination attempts while trying to figure out his new wife. Does she have any feelings for him? He thinks it is possible they can have a true marriage, not the one they were forced into. The King has it revealed to him that in his pride to be the one to rebuild the temple and thus marrying an unbeliever, he has not followed the Infinite's will for him.

    This is an exciting adventure to wrap up the series. There is action, love, plotting and scheming, hostages taken and unbelievers dying. There is never a dull moment in this book, which is one reason I liked it. The characters have matured and grown so much in their faith since the first book. The ability of them to stand and serve and obey the Infinite when in terrifying situations is admirable. I so enjoyed the conversations that took place between the Infinite and Ela. She is so young physically at 19 years of age, but so grounded in her faith and service. What an inspiration! Forgiveness is extended to those undeserving just like our Father forgives us when we ask with a broken and contrite heart in true repentance. This book is a great conclusion to the whole series, which I recommend.
  3. Hayden, Al
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    5 Stars Out Of 5
    An amazing ending to a great series!!!
    July 10, 2013
    Liz R
    Hayden, Al
    Age: 18-24
    Gender: female
    Quality: 5
    Value: 5
    Meets Expectations: 5
    Akabe Garric is now the unwilling king of Siphra, looking to rebuild the Infinite's temple. However, on the first day of construction, the deal with the landowner of the temple site goes south and Akabe is forced to negotiate new terms. Lord Thaenfall, a known Atean and enemy to the Infinite, insists that the only way he will sell the land is if the King marries his daughter. Akabe makes a brash decision and soon finds himself and his new wife Caitria the targets of many assassination attempts by Atean rebels. Along the way the King and Queen receive some help from their friends Ela, prophet of the Infinite and Kien, now exiled from his home in the Tracelands. Can Akabe and Caitria weather the onslaught of Atean rebels and find true love despite their differences?

    King was a fantastic ending to a well loved series! I enjoyed delving deeper into Akabe's character as well and discovering a wonderful new addition to the series in Queen Caitria. Afterall the harsh treatment and abandonment from her family, Caitria cannot help but be suspicious of other and a little cold. It was wonderful to watch her come out of her shell and warm to Akabe and their friends. Fans of Ela and Kien (like myself) will be extremely pleased with the direction their relationship goes in this book! The biblical references were fun to pick out while the author still managed to make the story its own.

    Last, but certainly not least, is Scythe (a.k.a. Pet) the destroyer with a big attitude and an even bigger appetite. Scythe dolls out his regular amount of grumblings, all while fiercely protecting Kien and Ela, and his usual amount of destruction. Is their nothing this horse won't eat! Unfortunately for Ela, an old friend decides to run for political office and his only hope of election is to return to her his own destroyer Flame, Scythe's beloved, who is in a delicate condition (as if the word delicate and destroyer would ever go together in the same sentence). What will she and Kien do with a whole family of destroyers?

    This book has it all, romance, humor and action! I would definitely recommend it to others and am looking forward to more from this wonderful author!

    *I received a copy of this from the publisher, by way of NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.*
Displaying items 6-8 of 8
Page 2 of 2 Previous 12