#1: Making the Team  -     By: Stephanie Perry Moore
Buy Item $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00) Add To Cart
Add To Wishlist
Buy eBook Begin reading in seconds $3.68 eBook Details

#1: Making the Team

Lift Every Voice / 2011 / Paperback

$5.99 (CBD Price)
Retail: $6.99
Save 14% ($1.00)
Buy 48 or more for $5.69 each.
Availability: In Stock
CBD Stock No: WW404114

Current Promotions

Product Description

Meet Alec London, a fourth grader whose world is crumbling. Between his mother leaving for L.A. to pursue an acting career and his brother bullying him, he's angry! But when he joins the football team, he learns to channel his anger and discovers how to depend on God. Includes end-of-chapter exercises. Ages 8 to 12.

Product Information

Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 120
Vendor: Lift Every Voice
Publication Date: 2011
Dimensions: 7.50 X 5.25 (inches)
ISBN: 0802404111
ISBN-13: 9780802404114
Availability: In Stock
Ages: 8-12
Series: Alec London

Related Products

  1. Making the Team - eBookeBOOK
    Making the Team - eBook
    Stephanie Perry Moore
    Lift Every Voice / 2011 / ePub
    $3.68 Retail: $5.24 Save 30% ($1.56)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW21514EB
  2. #2: Learning the Rules
    #2: Learning the Rules
    Stephanie Perry Moore
    Lift Every Voice / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $6.29 Retail: $7.99 Save 21% ($1.70)
    Availability: Expected to ship on or about 03/04/15.
    CBD Stock No: WW404107
  3. #3: Going the Distance
    #3: Going the Distance
    Stephanie Perry Moore
    Lift Every Voice / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 1 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW404121
  4. Winning the Battle
    Winning the Battle
    Stephanie Perry Moore
    Lift Every Voice / 2011 / Trade Paperback
    $6.29 Retail: $6.99 Save 10% ($0.70)
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW404145

Publisher's Description

The Alec London Series is a series written for boys, 8 - 12 years old. Alec London is introduced in Stephanie Perry Moore's previously released series, The Morgan Love Series. In this new series, readers get a glimpse of Alec's life up close and personal. The series provides moral lessons that will aid in character development teaching boys how to effectively deal with the various issues they face at this stage of life. The series will also help boys develop their English and math skills as they read through the stories and complete the entertaining and educational exercises provided at the end of each chapter and in the back of the book.

Alec London is a fourth grader whose world is spinning out of control. On the first day of fourth grade, Alec gets picked on by his classmate, Tyrod, because his dad is the schools new assistant principal. Alec, refusing to become the "principal's pet," attempts to fix things by lashing out at Tyrod. As a result he is sent to the principal's office where he receives a lecture on anger from his dad.

Alec finds himself struggling even more when his mom decides to move to L.A. to pursue an acting job, leaving her family behind. Alec is angry and sad and he feels betrayed by his mom for leaving him for a job. Alec's grandma moves in with them after his mother leaves to help keep the family going until she comes back. Alec is not happy with his mom's move or his grandma's move. In an attempt to help lift Alec's spirit and encourage him to use his anger for something good, Alec's dad suggests that he try out for the school football team. When Alec makes the team, beating out his brother Antoine for a starting position, there is trouble. Antoine becomes jealous because Alec is not only doing better than him in school but now in football too. Dad steps in and makes the boys work things out. In the midst of trying to adjust to having his dad at school with him, Alec, out of frustration says he wishes his grandma was not there and then later she has a heart attack, Alec feels guilty. Through football, lessons from his father and the story of Joseph, Alec learns that God allows things to happen in people's lives to help them grow. He also learns how to trust and depend on God to work things out.

Author Bio

STEPHANIE PERRY MOORE is the author of many Young Adult Christian fiction titles, including the Payton Skky series, the Laurel Shadrach series, the Perry Skky Jr. series, the Faith Thomas Novelzine series, the Carmen Browne series, and the Beta Gamma Pi series. She is also the co-editor for the impactful BibleZine, REAL. Mrs. Moore speaks with young people across the country, showing them how they can live life fully and do it God's way. Stephanie currently lives in the greater Atlanta area with her husband, Derrick, a former NFL player and author, and their three children. Visit her website at www.stephanieperrymoore.com.

DERRICK MOORE is a former NFL athlete who played for the Detroit Lions, Carolina Panthers, and Arizona Cardinals following his successful college football career. Since his retirement from the NFL in 1998 he has been in demand as a motivational speaker for professional teams, civic groups, churches, and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He is on staff with FCA, serving as the chaplain of the football program at Georgia Tech. Derrick is the author of The Great Adventure and the general editor for the Strength and Honor Bible. He and his wife, Stephanie, a Christian fiction novelist, live in greater Atlanta area with their two daughters.

Product Reviews

Be the first to write a review!

Ask Christianbook


Ask Christianbook

What would you like to know about this product? Please enter your name, your email and your question regarding the product in the fields below, and we'll answer you in the next 24-48 hours.

If you need immediate assistance regarding this product or any other, please call 1-800-CHRISTIAN to speak directly with a customer service representative.

Other Customers Also Purchased

  1. Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
    Kingdom's Dawn, Kingdom Series #1
    Chuck Black
    Multnomah Books / 2006 / Trade Paperback
    $8.19 Retail: $9.99 Save 18% ($1.80)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 30 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW526790
  2. The Savage Game Of Lord Zarak, The Lost Chronicles Series #2
    The Savage Game Of Lord Zarak, The Lost Chronicles Series #2
    Gilbert Morris
    Moody Publishers / 2000 / Trade Paperback
    Availability: Usually ships in 24-48 hours.
    CBD Stock No: WW6684
  3. Lucy Doesn't Wear Pink
    Lucy Doesn't Wear Pink
    Nancy Rue
    ZonderKidz / 2008 / Trade Paperback
    $5.49 Retail: $5.99 Save 8% ($0.50)
    5 Stars Out Of 5 4 Reviews
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW714500
  4. Secret at Mystic Lake
    Secret at Mystic Lake
    Carolyn Keene
    Aladdin / 2014 / Trade Paperback
    $5.99 Retail: $6.99 Save 14% ($1.00)
    Availability: In Stock
    CBD Stock No: WW400120

Find Related Products

Author/Artist Review

Start A New Search